Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

Suggestions Post suggestions for upcoming versions

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2002, 01:34 AM   #1
mMhCkB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4
Default Auto Passive Mode Switch

If you connect to a site and you get a DataSocket error, would it be possible for FFXP to automatically disconnect with passive mode enabled/disabled, whichever the case may be?

Just seems easier than having to go in and toggle it every time it happens.
mMhCkB is offline  
Old 03-12-2002, 05:12 AM   #2
Ethanol
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 82
Default

I have always thought this would be a useful option, especially when transferring an unattended queue.

I'm not sure it would need to disconnect though, just retry the previous command with PASV inversed.
Ethanol is offline  
Old 03-12-2002, 05:20 AM   #3
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

starting with build 835 you can change the site passive mode setting via the site manager while connected. no reconnect is needed.
bigstar is offline  
Old 03-12-2002, 04:15 PM   #4
mMhCkB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4
Default

bigstar, thats not what i'm asking.

Instead of having to switch it yourself, whether disconecting or not, if one mode fails, it should switch over automatically and retry without human work.
mMhCkB is offline  
Old 03-12-2002, 04:30 PM   #5
Shark
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 605
Default

I think its not too hard to change the option if it doesnt work.. If it automatically changes without you knowing, I think that would cause more problems than having to disable it ( you only have to disable it once, it will remember you know )
Shark is offline  
Old 03-12-2002, 04:33 PM   #6
mMhCkB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4
Default

...just have it automatically change and remember for that site like it normally would. Either way, it would have to be done, the only difference is the program is doing it for you.
mMhCkB is offline  
Old 03-12-2002, 05:03 PM   #7
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

I know what you asking, but some sites do not support PASV or PORT, and auto switching really isn't a good idea. sometimes a data connection will simply fail and it has nothing to do with whether PASV or PORT is supported.
bigstar is offline  
Old 03-14-2002, 09:09 PM   #8
SubZero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 21
Default

maybe it might go from pasv to normal and back and forth as the site fails (or so?)
SubZero is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 01:02 AM   #9
Fusion
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 542
Default

If it did that, you'd see it switch all over the place on "normal" failures aswell.
Fusion is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 03:07 PM   #10
SubZero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 21
Default

and yes, i know that
but it will connect 50%
and we do not need to touch the settings :P
SubZero is offline  
 

Tags
case, easier, mode, passive, time

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why do i get this error ? twisted General Discussion 0 05-02-2005 11:25 PM
cant browse a directory MiSiL General Discussion 5 03-11-2005 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)