Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

Suggestions Post suggestions for upcoming versions

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2003, 09:06 AM   #1
chickendavis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Default specify directories at command line

Hello there,

Just wanted to suggest a small enhancement.
I know that it is possible to specify the remote directory from the command line for a site that is not in the site manager.

ie. flashfxp.exe ftp://userass@hostort/path

but when connecting to a site using its alias from the site manager...u can't specify a relative path for it at the command line.

ie. flashfxp.exe groupname/site_manager_alias/whatever_path

Just thought it would be quite a useful enhancement to the command line options. It would be more consistent as well... considering it can be done with non-saved sites.

Thanx very much!
love the product btw!!!

-ChiCKeN DaViS
chickendavis is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 09:55 AM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,861
Default Re: specify directories at command line

Quote:
Originally posted by chickendavis
flashfxp.exe groupname/site_manager_alias/whatever_path
and would you expect flashfxp to change to /whatever_path relative to your home dir or / root?
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 10:09 AM   #3
chickendavis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Default

i guess i would leave that decision up to the development team... they could implement it either way... doesn't matter to me
chickendavis is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 11:42 AM   #4
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,861
Default

yes, but if they implement the other way from what you would be expecting, you'll come back complaing that you can't change to dir you wanted to
when you give ftp:// url to flashfxp you tell it full path from / root
but when you connect using site in site manager your user account can have home dir set to something else other than / root...
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 01:51 PM   #5
chickendavis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Default

what are ya talking about mon?
i just said i dont care which way it is implemented.
it would be hypocritical of me to suggest one way and then complain about it being that way.

if a person tries to use a directory in the command line that
conflicts with what they have set in the site manager for that site.. then it is their own fault for having made such a stupid mistake...

as long as its made known in the documentation that it works a certain way... then thats all that can be done to notify the user.
its up to them to use the feature correctly!

u can only do so much to prevent a user from messing things up if they dont know what they're doing

-ChiCKeN DaViS
chickendavis is offline  
 

Tags
command, flashfxp.exe, line, manager, site

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Cookies darkone Suggestions 6 01-22-2003 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)