Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

Suggestions Post suggestions for upcoming versions

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2003, 03:25 PM   #1
KiS
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Default High-priority ports

Would it be possible to allow the selection of high-priority ports for active-mode ftp connections like it is already done with ioftpd's passive mode configuration? The reason is the same as described at http://www.ioftpd.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=444 - to get better bandwidth from various FTP servers.
KiS is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 03:42 PM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,839
Default

what the heck is "high-priority ports"?

you can specify port range in options, "proxy/firewall/ident" tab, "Limit local port range to: "
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 07:34 AM   #3
KiS
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Default

I know - you can, however, only set a port range with the "limit local port range" function and it's impossible to choose ports under 1024, unless they are set manually in the .ini file. The disadvantage is that on any change in the options dialog, it will be set back to 1024/1024 again.

It has to be possible to select single ports as only the bandwidth for widely used ports like 23 (telnet), 25 (smtp), 80 (http) etc. is not restricted on ftp servers (BBB, for example) and full throughput is guaranteed on these ports only.

It's no use setting them to 23-80, because there are plenty of ports in between on which the bandwidth is deadly small. If it's set to one port only - like loport=80 and hiport=80 - you can be sure to use a "fast port", but you can have only one concurrent active ftp connection then.

Restricting various ports/services is called "port priorization" and the ports/services not restriced are high priority ports...

Do you understand it now?
KiS is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 12:33 PM   #4
misterilla
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 28
Default

true. a enhancement of the "limit port range" option would be great ...

edit it to a textbox where i can specify range/single ports or two options like

1. use single port(s): port1,port2,port3,port5
2. use port range: port1-port2

this would make it easy to specify the ports i want to use for active mode connections.

posted this already somewhere in the forum but nobody agreed ... mayb this option can be ini only. bigstar justified the imit on ports only above 1024 with the fact that problems can occure if standart users specify low ports cause they dont know what effect this option can have.

so a ini only setting would guarantee that only advanced users use this feature.

so 2 things to do:
- dont overwrite "hi/loport" settings when changing something in options
- add option to specify range AND single ports to use for active connection

think many ppl will be happy to see this in ffxp
misterilla is offline  
Old 04-13-2003, 02:13 PM   #5
rush
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
Default

This would be a good idea, and i know there are a few people who could use this feature. And like misterilla suggested, this could be made accessible only through manually editing the .ini, this way it wouldn't confuse the common user.
rush is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 06:14 PM   #6
FooBag
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 6
Default

-bump

This would be a great addition if this could be implemented into a future version.
FooBag is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 06:40 PM   #7
MidKnight
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 857
Default

yes i totally agree. this is something i could use a lot
MidKnight is offline  
 

Tags
configuration, ftp, high-priority, ports, reason

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random users disappearing in <=4.5.4 Mouton Bug Reports 0 03-12-2003 10:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)