Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

Suggestions Post suggestions for upcoming versions

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2003, 02:34 AM   #1
slv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3
Default Cpu usage

Hello to everyone.

When transferring big files in a 100mbit/s network my cpu usage goes really high, I wonder is it just flashFXP that does it or is it a property of ftp protocol? Task manager says that flashfxp is using 80-90% of cpu time.

When doing transfers in linux with a weaker machine it still feels like the loads arent so big, even wit same speed (10 MB/sec)..

I have a amd 1700+ with 512 sdram, 7200 rpm hd and windoze xp (3com network adapter). I dont think it has anything to do with my computer...

So is there anything to do about this, so that my computer would be "usable" while transferring big files.

Anyway, great program otherwise.

Cheers,
slv
slv is offline  
Old 01-21-2003, 03:01 AM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,861
Default

are you transfering ssl encrypted?
if so on high speed transfers cpu usage can get pretty high..
what's your flashfxp build?
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 01-21-2003, 03:40 AM   #3
slv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3
Default

No, i am not using encrypted transfers. Just the normal ftp transfers in my lan.

I have used several different versions and havent noticed any real differences.

[edit] currently im using the newest version 2.0.908
slv is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 02:28 AM   #4
D0M1N8R
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Windows just sux =)

dunno much but while I upload files from my linux box to my windows box I can do tons and not feel a performance drop to much. go on windows machine while this is happening and its very skippy.
D0M1N8R is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 03:23 AM   #5
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

FlashFXP will use all available cpu usage to transfer the file as fast as possible. You can lower the cpu usage by limiting the transfer speed via the Preferences -> Transfer Tab.
bigstar is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 04:37 AM   #6
darkone
Disabled
FlashFXP Registered User
ioFTPD Administrator
 
darkone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,230
Default

100% cpu usage sounds weird though, on my local tests i get flashfxp to transfer 1gb file @ ~18megs/sec with only ~50-60% cpu usage (p4 2ghz), 5000rpm disks (from drive to another)

[11:15:22] Transferred 1 file totaling 1_138_259_607 bytes in 01:00 (18_389,36 KBps)
darkone is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 04:40 AM   #7
darkone
Disabled
FlashFXP Registered User
ioFTPD Administrator
 
darkone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,230
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by D0M1N8R
Windows just sux =)

dunno much but while I upload files from my linux box to my windows box I can do tons and not feel a performance drop to much. go on windows machine while this is happening and its very skippy.
Linux has much better disk caching than windows. (not sure how well it's done in server versions of windows, propably somewhat/much better)
darkone is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 05:21 AM   #8
slv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigstar
FlashFXP will use all available cpu usage to transfer the file as fast as possible. You can lower the cpu usage by limiting the transfer speed via the Preferences -> Transfer Tab.
Im sure you could optimise the code... Because in a 100Mbit network the theorical maximun is about 11,5 MB/s, and i can get that kind of speed with 500-600 mhz cpu. Then when i have 1000 MHz:s more i still get the same speed and still way too big cpu usage.
slv is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 02:02 PM   #9
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slv
Im sure you could optimise the code... Because in a 100Mbit network the theorical maximun is about 11,5 MB/s, and i can get that kind of speed with 500-600 mhz cpu. Then when i have 1000 MHz:s more i still get the same speed and still way too big cpu usage.
If i could optimize the code anymore I would, I can't.
bigstar is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 08:12 PM   #10
darkone
Disabled
FlashFXP Registered User
ioFTPD Administrator
 
darkone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,230
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slv
Im sure you could optimise the code... Because in a 100Mbit network the theorical maximun is about 11,5 MB/s, and i can get that kind of speed with 500-600 mhz cpu. Then when i have 1000 MHz:s more i still get the same speed and still way too big cpu usage.

FlashFXP's main purpose is to FXP files...
darkone is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 09:24 PM   #11
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dark0n3
FlashFXP's main purpose is to FXP files...
not really.
FlashFXP's main purpose is to be ftp client, which also includes fxp.
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 10:09 PM   #12
darkone
Disabled
FlashFXP Registered User
ioFTPD Administrator
 
darkone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,230
Default

Yes, but if you prefer speed over anything else, you should be using command prompt ftp - or another operating system. (I know, that it's possible to get better performance with different implementations... but if author says, that it would require major (= too much) changes in core to be worthwhile, we should all shut up)
IMO FlashFXP's efficiency is sufficient as is (~15% cpu usage on 10mb/sec transfers..) - all optimizations are welcome, but not neccessary (on client side I prefer functionality over performance)
darkone is offline  
 

Tags
big, computer, cpu, flashfxp, usage

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Site to site question, wont connect Xbox4144 General Discussion 3 01-09-2005 10:38 AM
Random users disappearing in <=4.5.4 Mouton Bug Reports 0 03-12-2003 10:38 AM
Pasv bug darkone Bug Reports 0 01-30-2003 02:16 PM
Speed limit busternl Suggestions 1 12-22-2002 10:39 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)