Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

Suggestions Post suggestions for upcoming versions

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2002, 07:38 AM   #1
cynix
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 58
Default [suggestion] queue size

it'd be great if flashfxp can crawl into all dirs in the queue before starting actual transfer, to compute real queue size and time remaining.
cynix is offline  
Old 10-14-2002, 10:00 AM   #2
JM6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8
Default

Sure, I'll have to wait an hour before my queue starts processing
JM6 is offline  
Old 10-14-2002, 10:14 PM   #3
Shark
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 606
Default

This has been suggested before, I cannot remember the final reasons behind it... but basically because of JM6's comments I think is why it was not implemented.

I suggest searching the board before posting..
Shark is offline  
Old 10-14-2002, 10:25 PM   #4
MidKnight
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 857
Default

i agree shark, but there must be a way to do it, if you take a look at bulletproof, it can do this instantly. i dont know how it does it, but it does. So it would be an interesting thing to look into
MidKnight is offline  
Old 10-21-2002, 09:18 PM   #5
Fuser
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 18
Default Expand Directories in the que

I often que up many directories at one time. When I start to transfer I can see the time left, however this is only accurate for the files that are in the que. It would be nice if flash could be told to always expand all directories in the que before transfering.

This might fall in line with the upload / download que priority thread as well, since doing this would allow inspection of all the qued files at once.
Fuser is offline  
Old 10-21-2002, 11:18 PM   #6
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,861
Default

threads merged
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 10-22-2002, 07:50 AM   #7
Shooky
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2
Default Re-calc queue size

There's a different way each OS calculates the size of a folder - Which make the estimation of the time it will take to finish the queue sometimes meaningless (as long there are directories in the queue).

I think it will be nice to add an option that will get rid of all the directories in the queue (just by keeping them on top of the queue).

That’s all.


Thanks
Shooky is offline  
Old 10-22-2002, 07:29 PM   #8
Fuser
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 18
Default Directories at the top

Having the directories stay at the top really is not the best idea, since it would change the order of the que. Having Flashfxp (when the transfer "go" button is pressed) expand every directory in the que and que the files, till there are no more directories would be better. This would preserve the original order in the que (priority) and allow FlashFXP to calculate remaining time more accurately.
Fuser is offline  
Old 10-22-2002, 07:33 PM   #9
Fuser
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 18
Default In response to JM6

I can see how with maybe 10,000 small files in 30 directories that this would not be a good thing for the que, however it can still be made an option. I dont think that JM6's situation represents the majority of the users. What his situation does represent is the need for it to be an option.
Fuser is offline  
Old 10-22-2002, 07:53 PM   #10
Shooky
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2
Default

I think it shouldn't be a toggle option...

I thought about it a little, and found a generic idea on how to solve it.

It should be possible to add a new kind of item to the queue...

A COMMAND item... which for now will be used to expand all dirs.

There will be a button that when pressed - push an "Expand Directories in Queue" Command item to the queue ... which will then be processed.

There must be more things that you could do with that option (the command item)...

Oh ... got one :-)

You’ll be able to D/L stuff, and then delete the directory you've just d/led. Or send a message after certain item in the queue finished. Etc...

What do you think?
Shooky is offline  
Old 10-24-2002, 08:12 AM   #11
melter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 41
Default folders in queue..

it would be nice to see the total size of all the folders in the queue when the size is given by the server..

would this be possible?
melter is offline  
Old 10-24-2002, 03:23 PM   #12
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,861
Default

threads merged yet again
man, i wish people would spend 2min searching msgboard
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
 

Tags
actual, queue, size, starting, transfer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xbox to pc meggo General Discussion 3 05-07-2005 03:15 AM
backup settings and accounts? NeedHelp General Discussion 5 09-29-2004 10:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)