Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2002, 02:21 AM   #1
4nDr3w
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2
Cool just a quick sugestion...

i was wondering if it's possible to add a "pause" feature in the program. it would be extremely usefull for uploading.

i sometimes find myself uploading a large file and since i have 1-way cable, the upload takes a very long time. if i try to cruise the web or do anything else, i can't because all of my upload bandwidth is being taken by the upload process. if i abort, hen i have to start the whole upload from 0 (zero). if i just close the program... the same. i guess a pause button would be great, so i could pause the transfer, do what i need to do and then resume the upload/download.

thank you.
4nDr3w is offline  
Old 04-18-2002, 02:46 AM   #2
MidKnight
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 857
Default

Sounds like the site doesn't support resume, so in this case even if there was a pause button, it wouldn't work for you on that site.

Also go to "options">"when file exsist"

And make sure you have "auto-resume" turned on
MidKnight is offline  
Old 04-18-2002, 08:49 AM   #3
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

It sounds like the ftp server does not allow/support resume uploading. In which case you must finish the file.

It is not possible to pause a transfer, however perhaps you should consider using the speed limiting feature, by limiting the transfer speed you will be able to browse those web pages.

When I was on a 33.6 dialup connection that's exactly what I did.
bigstar is offline  
Old 04-18-2002, 10:29 AM   #4
4nDr3w
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2
Default

the speed limit sounds like it will work, however, will i be stuck uploading the entire file at that speed? or can i set the speed to my needs DURING an upload?
4nDr3w is offline  
Old 04-18-2002, 11:12 AM   #5
Linkster
Moderator
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,070
Default

you can change the speed limit at any time during the transfer
Linkster is offline  
Old 04-18-2002, 11:13 AM   #6
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

You can enable/disable speed limiting at any time.
bigstar is offline  
 

Tags
pause, process, program, upload, uploading

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)