Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2004, 09:00 PM   #1
FlammingChongo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Unhappy Newbie question - Transfer Speed

Newbie here - I am currently using Flashfxp to transfer files between my Xbox and computer. The problem I am having, is that I can only reach transfer speeds between 210/150 kps. I have read in other posts where people have been able to reach into the 1000's. Took me almost 8 hours to transfer 4.5 gigs. I have used many programs, but they all end up around the same speed. I would love to get FlashFXP working properly, as it is the best program out there and the easiest to use. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Here is my info:

FlashFXP ver 2.1 build 924 - unregistered (but would register it, if it transfered at a higher speed)
Winxp
Running behind a Microsoft mn100 router
No firewall
Running McAfee antivirus
DSL


Side notes: I have tried all the options, (such as unchecking USE Passive mode, checking Downloading (Not Pasive), and Uploading as well. I have also tried forcing it to download at 5000 kps, in the preferences, but no dice.

Hope this makes sense to someone out and thanks for any help.
FlammingChongo is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 09:07 PM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,861
Default

all the options you tried have absolutly nothing to do with transfer speed.
go to Transfer tab and change "upload packet size". find a value that works best for your connection.
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 09:21 PM   #3
FlammingChongo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Default

well thats why I put newbie in the subject line. Even though, I followed your advice and all I was able to get out of it was
235 kps. Does that mean its my DSL connection? Am I doing everything this program can do?
FlammingChongo is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 12:06 AM   #4
Joker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 182
Default

i think the xbox thinks your not uploading through the lan but with your modem and isp speed.
the easiest thin g you could do is connect xbox->pc directly without any router or anything, that way you can be shure you will max out the xbox if you have a 100mbit network card.
Joker is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 01:46 PM   #5
Rats
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 22
Default

This usually means your router, NIC, or XBOX ftp server software is bad
Rats is offline  
 

Tags
flashfxp, newbie, running, speed, transfer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3.7.0 Known bugs darkone Bug Reports 6 12-10-2002 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)