Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2001, 08:50 AM   #1
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default Should we modernize the custom commands?

Should we modernize the custom commands?

Current design limitations.
1. Commands are limited to 250 characters.
2. Groups can only be 2 levels deep.
3. Shortcuts are limited to Ctrl+Shift+<key>
4. The semi-colon key ";" can't be used in a custom commands.

Umm Anything Else?

Feel free to add your suggestions.
bigstar is offline  
Old 12-14-2001, 09:32 AM   #2
Fusion
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 542
Default

Items 2-4 are rather limiting, and I'd like very, very much to see an enhancement there. In part, that's why I've rarely hit the #1 limitation, so if you fix 2-4, you might just aswell do #1.

Also, can custom-commands, especially with parameters, be seamlessly nested, and if so, how deep?
Fusion is offline  
Old 12-14-2001, 07:24 PM   #3
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

I'm not quite sure I understand what you mean, can you give me an example?
bigstar is offline  
Old 12-14-2001, 09:02 PM   #4
exseven
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 43
Default

deleted
exseven is offline  
Old 12-14-2001, 09:08 PM   #5
Fusion
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 542
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigstar
I'm not quite sure I understand what you mean, can you give me an example?
Let's say you have one custom command that accepts parameters via prompts. Can a second custom command that also accepts parameters re-use the first command as parts of its run without prompting for more info? Or would we need to prompt for the same info repeatedly?
Fusion is offline  
Old 12-14-2001, 09:09 PM   #6
Fusion
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 542
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by exseven
its fusion
dazzle them with brilliance or baffel them with bullshit
Both MxxCon and Shark would call that a useless post, ex.
Fusion is offline  
Old 12-15-2001, 01:08 AM   #7
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fusion
Let's say you have one custom command that accepts parameters via prompts. Can a second custom command that also accepts parameters re-use the first command as parts of its run without prompting for more info? Or would we need to prompt for the same info repeatedly?

That's already possible.
I can't think of a usefull example but this will give you the idea.

For each %d prompt that value can later be accessed via %<num>

SITE %d %1

if %d = "Hello" the result would be SITE Hello Hello
bigstar is offline  
Old 12-15-2001, 08:25 AM   #8
exseven
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 43
Default

maybe usefull example

site adduser %d(user) %d(pass) %d(ident); site change %1 flags %d
exseven is offline  
Old 12-30-2001, 03:10 AM   #9
cjr
Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
cjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 93
Smile

To tell you the truth I have never used this feature before and may never. I just can't see a need for it.
__________________
Chris

**************************************
FlashFXP v4.0.0, build 1462, registered
OS: Windows 7 x64
Firewall: Linux IPTables
Antivirus: Sophos
Network: xDSL

**************************************
cjr is offline  
Old 01-24-2002, 09:05 PM   #10
bulbi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5
Default

to begin sorry for my english because i'm french...

it would bery cool u change the custom command
the best wlould be that we can use a custom command in a custom command!!!!
to increase the number of character would be a very good idea too

bulbi is offline  
Old 02-08-2002, 01:25 AM   #11
_fuji_
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4
Default

Allow custom commands to be used inside of custom commands...

This would allow us to make use of the functions theory used in every programming language other than cobol i think it was...

#1 would be nice
#2 Never had a problem with it
#3 Never had a problem with it
#4 The semi colon use, or lack thereof can be limiting at times...

Perhaps a scripting language similar to leapftp could be implemented... because imo leap has the best support for scripting.
_fuji_ is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 05:31 AM   #12
JuvY
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 47
Default

Allow executing one code that will perform command over the selected dirs one by one.

Example:

rnfr %f
rnto %d

rnfr will be performed on the first of the selected dirs, then rnto on the same dir, and then it will move on to the next dir.

REN %f * %d doesn't wanna work at all times
JuvY is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 05:46 AM   #13
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JuvY
Allow executing one code that will perform command over the selected dirs one by one.

Example:

rnfr %f
rnto %d

rnfr will be performed on the first of the selected dirs, then rnto on the same dir, and then it will move on to the next dir.

REN %f * %d doesn't wanna work at all times

with the current design rnfr %f rnto %d is impossible with multiple selected files.

what's wrong with REN %f * %d? I was not aware there was a problem, but if you can tell me about it I will try to fix it.
bigstar is offline  
Old 03-23-2002, 03:35 PM   #14
ACDC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1
Default

Yeah, optimize this!

1.] Command in commands
2.] MUCH more than 250 characters
3.] Basic FlashFXP functions like browseandlistto.. cwd and then list will not work...
4.] Correct command queue Sample:

RNFR %f
RNTO %f_

on multiple files the first command is executed on all files, then the second. -->Wrong

5.] ALL ftp commands... which results may be saved in variables for later usage

That's all for the moment
ACDC is offline  
Old 05-27-2002, 06:56 AM   #15
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

With the beta release of build 853 many of of these limitations have been addressed.

The following limitations no longer exist.
1. Commands are limited to 250 characters.
2. Groups can only be 2 levels deep.
3. Shortcuts are limited to Ctrl+Shift+<key>
4. The semi-colon key ";" can't be used in a custom commands.
bigstar is offline  
 

Tags
commands, custom, key, limited, modernize

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having some odd issues: Blackcomb General Discussion 3 05-13-2005 03:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)