Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2001, 05:34 PM   #1
CiSmAXz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1
Question Flash and a linksys router

I did a search and read some of the posts but has anyone be able to actually get fxp to work behind a Linksys router? I have tried just about everything and cant ever seem to get it to see my real IP address.
CiSmAXz is offline  
Old 12-08-2001, 08:22 PM   #2
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default Re: Flash and a linksys router

Quote:
Originally posted by CiSmAXz
I did a search and read some of the posts but has anyone be able to actually get fxp to work behind a Linksys router? I have tried just about everything and cant ever seem to get it to see my real IP address.
Do you mean the PORT command is using the wrong IP?

FlashFXP allows you to bind to a specific IP which is defined in the Preferences / Proxy tab.
bigstar is offline  
Old 02-11-2002, 09:39 PM   #3
john00027
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
Default Linksys router troble too

I have the same issue, port forward, dmz in linksys and latest firmware doesnt help.
Trying the NAT Option, bind local ports, and use alternate method still get the same result.
I'm trying to fxp site to site
One site is using NT FTP the other is using GLFTPD
the queue loads and when it transfers it transfers 0 bytes
425 Can't open data connection.
ABOR
425 Can't open data connection.
225 ABOR command successful.
Transfer Failed!
PASV

PORT doesnt work either it hangs on the dir listing.

If anybody have solved this one please let me know.

I dont attribute this to a in flash fxp problem so much as a linksys issue. Maybe somebody has succeeded in a work around somewhere, although all the searches here seem to indicate nobody has a solution yet.
john00027 is offline  
Old 02-12-2002, 03:41 AM   #4
Sniper007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2
Exclamation

i have this same problem too or i can't get a directory listing it just pauses for a while then says

150 Opening data connection for directory list.
425 Cannot open data connection (10060).

even though i have a port specified it sometimes says this one:

530 PORT command only accepts client IP address.
LIST
550 List failed. No port specifieden

and i have a linksys router


Sniper007 is offline  
Old 02-12-2002, 04:52 AM   #5
S3cur1ty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 14
Default

maybe it will be smart for ftp clients to automatically switch to use PASV when the local machine IP falls into the following range

Address Allocation for Private Internets
10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255 (10/8 prefix)
172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255 (172.16/12 prefix)
192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255 (192.168/16 prefix)
S3cur1ty is offline  
Old 02-12-2002, 05:06 AM   #6
Sniper007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2
Default

oh and i am using pass mode but the really wierd part is i can log on to the same site using ws_ftp



Sniper007 is offline  
Old 02-12-2002, 01:19 PM   #7
john00027
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
Default Linksys Solution possibly

there is a new firmware that came out at the end of January 2002 for the Linksys router.
I'm not sure if this is part of the solution but it sure seems that way.
Suddenly the fxp site to site is working behind this thing.
I used no special settings in the setup of this site in the site manager.
Also in flash fxp (I'm not sure if this made any difference)
Options
Proxy/firewall
Limit local port range to 1024 max 2048 is ticked
and bind local IPs to (then I typed in my current IP)

Suddenly site to site works with the linksys router.

One thing I wonder, when it comes to site to site some require pasv some PORT, is there a way to have a site in the site manager control things like Ident requests. (I would like to be able to enable or disable those by the site instead of just global?)

Anyway if anybody else is having a problem with Linksys try this solution, I have some specific settings in linksys too, such as port forwarding and DMZ host setup.
john00027 is offline  
Old 02-12-2002, 01:20 PM   #8
john00027
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
Default of Sniper007's post

Remember some sites require PORT and some require pasv, if your connection or directory listing hangs you have to manually change from port to PASV and reconnect.
I wish there was a way to automate that but there isnt. At least not yet
john00027 is offline  
Old 02-13-2002, 07:08 AM   #9
joe5570
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1
Default FXP and Linksys Router Works

Thanks to the Post by johnk1 I was able to get my Linksys Router and FXP Client to function together.

Some notes:

1. I didn't need to upgarde the firmware in router. I probably should though.

2. Set Linksys router for:
port forwarding and DMZ
(you should reset remove these when done FXPing for security reasons)

3. FXP changes:
Limit local port range to 1024 max 2048 is ticked
and bind local IPs to (then I typed in my current IP)

BTW: My server uses WS_FTP Sever software. In case anyone wonders if that is compatible with FXping

Thanks again...
joe5570 is offline  
 

Tags
address, linksys, read, real, router

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to disable "Command Tokens" shawn1 General Discussion 6 10-28-2004 03:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)