Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2002, 03:30 AM   #1
rush
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
Default FlashFXP takes a long time starting

I got the problem that Flash takes ages to load, its about ten seconds from clicking the link till the window shows up. This started a few days ago and i can't tell what i night have done to cause it.
What might Flash be looking for or trying to connect to before showing the main window?
Anybody got an idea?
rush is offline  
Old 07-07-2002, 04:35 AM   #2
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

How many sites do you have in your site manager? the more sites you have the longer it takes to load them.

If you use anti-virus software that might be causing the long startup, try disabling it and then run FlashFXP and see if it makes a difference. Be sure to re-enable your anti-virus software.
bigstar is offline  
Old 07-07-2002, 05:23 AM   #3
rush
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
Default

No its not my Antivirus, i just made sure. My Sites.dat isn't really big, and before this behaviour started Flash loaded within a second.
What i did do lately is redo my linux router, with new firewalling. But as you are saying that Flash does not have any network activity when starting i didn't look into this.
Or maybe i accidently removed something from the registry.

Anyways, when i start it FlashFXP.exe appears in the processes in the taskmanager and then sits there for its like ten seconds doing nothing until i see the window.
rush is offline  
Old 07-07-2002, 05:43 AM   #4
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Which version/build of FlashFXP are you using?

Do you have any network drives? On startup FlashFXP enumerates drives.

FlashFXP doesn't rely on any registry settings. All important information is stored in your FlashFXP folder.
bigstar is offline  
Old 07-07-2002, 06:14 AM   #5
rush
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
Default

I am currently using the latest RC, but it is the same with the old 1.4.
But i do have networked drives through Samba. Yet i had this setup for ages and without any problems. Does Flash walk the whole directory structure on start?
But still wouldn't explain why i never had a problem before.
rush is offline  
Old 07-07-2002, 06:59 AM   #6
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

No it does not. I don't know anything about Samba, perhaps that's it. I really don't know
bigstar is offline  
Old 07-07-2002, 10:34 AM   #7
Linkster
Moderator
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,070
Default

are you running flashfxp from a network share? is your default startup folder a network share? both these can cause delayed startup
Linkster is offline  
Old 07-07-2002, 12:34 PM   #8
rush
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Linkster, you gave the right hint!
I actually have a network share set as default download path and when i redid stuff i changed the machines name. So there was a nonexistant startup path set.
I knew i was missing something. lol

Problem solved, thanks
rush is offline  
 

Tags
connect, flash, night, takes, window

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)