Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

Bug Reports Report bugs here. (non-beta releases only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2001, 04:50 PM   #1
y2kmp3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4
Default Bugs XP Unresponsive with FlashFXP idle

reporting a bug...

win xp professional, fresh install, background apps Norton Systemworks 2002, XP firewall only (no other firewall program), flashfxp 1.4 build 800 (incl. patch), goback 3.1 for xp.

for flashfxp i have set auto-idle on, and on finishing downloading, simply idle without disconnect.

however, when flashfsp remains idles for a long time (ex. hours), xp will not allow any other program to run, including internet explorer, citiing cannot initiate program (?ran of resource, but did not say this explicitly). will not even allow me to reboot or shutdown.

only allows me to choose between logoff and switch user, but pushing buttons for these options do nothing.

force to reboot by pushing reset hardware button.

this is a very serious problem. please advise.

ps: PIII800EB, ASUS CUCL2-C, 512MB RAM, Nividia GeForce 2 GTS
y2kmp3 is offline  
Old 11-25-2001, 05:59 PM   #2
Shark
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 605
Default

I have never heard of this problem in this form, but I definatly suggest upgrading to FFXP 1.4.815 *Build 815 in otherwords.. as some bugs for XP were resolved in this build..

Shark
Shark is offline  
Old 11-25-2001, 06:10 PM   #3
y2kmp3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4
Default

the problem persists even after the upgrade (as i have noted above).

ne1 else had this problem. this problem is reproducible.
y2kmp3 is offline  
Old 11-25-2001, 06:40 PM   #4
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Do you have anti-idle set to send noops? or is it set to use something else.

I have not experienced this sort of problem nor have I ever heard of it before.

Is there anything in the errorlog.txt?

About how many hours does it take before it'll start erroring?
bigstar is offline  
Old 11-26-2001, 12:13 AM   #5
y2kmp3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4
Default

bigstar,

i did set the anti-idle to nops. i will try the other commands. why will this make a difference?

cannot see errorlog.txt at all, since i am completely locked out and cannot even launch notepad to see the errorlog. i then use goback to revert back to earlier time. when i search back to see if there is an errorlog.txt, there is NONE.

usually happens after idle for 3-4 hours.

i have asked flashfxp to auto exit after it finished download, and so far it seems to have fixed the problem.

thanks for the speedy advice. looking forward to solve this mystery.
y2kmp3 is offline  
Old 11-26-2001, 01:51 AM   #6
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by y2kmp3
bigstar,

i did set the anti-idle to nops. i will try the other commands. why will this make a difference?
No, I was thinking perhaps you were using the LIST command. If anti-idle were to cause lockups I would have suspected LIST being used. It requires the most work compared to the other commands.

Quote:
cannot see errorlog.txt at all, since i am completely locked out and cannot even launch notepad to see the errorlog. i then use goback to revert back to earlier time. when i search back to see if there is an errorlog.txt, there is NONE.

usually happens after idle for 3-4 hours.

i have asked flashfxp to auto exit after it finished download, and so far it seems to have fixed the problem.

thanks for the speedy advice. looking forward to solve this mystery.
That is really strange, Perhaps FlashFXP is not 100% compatible with your system configuration, WinXP is relatively new and we are still working out the bugs.

I am unable to reproduce the problem on my test XP system.
bigstar is offline  
Old 11-26-2001, 04:15 PM   #7
y2kmp3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4
Default

i will try to capture a screenshot for you next time, but the computer may not allow me to save the screenshot if it is froze. will get back to you.
y2kmp3 is offline  
Old 11-27-2001, 02:13 PM   #8
Dogmeat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8
Default

Have you CTRL-ALT-DEL to bring up the task manager? You can see what processes are running and how much resources are being tied up.

I have a similar configuration and I don't experience any such prob (I have Flash on idle for a couple of days at a time when I forget to disconnect before the weekend).

There are also various process monitor utilities out there to identify what's running to hog your system resources.

One suggestion you might look at is what your power settings are. You may very well be in hibernate mode in which case, everything is idled down. It may take some time before your system comes back up as Windows tries to restore system settings from its cache.
Dogmeat is offline  
 

Tags
firewall, flashfxp, program, pushing, reboot

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)