Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

Suggestions Got a new idea or addition which would benefit IOFTPD? Post it here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2004, 11:57 AM   #1
|ZOK|
Junior Member
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11
Default raided dir uploads

Quote from documentation:
--------------------------------------------------------------
Raiding dirs for archiving purposes

The contents of two or more dirs can be merged as shown below.
Note: For read-only purposes! Writing is however possible, uploaded files (in a raided VFS dir) will be stored on last device specified.
--------------------------------------------------------------

Would it be possible, regarding uploads, to make it choose the drive/dir with most space left?
With the new dvdr frenzy and increased bandwidth, 2 drives with identical content isn't really that uncommon.
Perhaps too resource demanding and unimportant for most but, just a thought
|ZOK| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 12:56 PM   #2
ADDiCT
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Scripter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 517
Default

your files would get spread all over the disks... u might as well make a spanned volume / raid0 of the drives then
ADDiCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 02:03 PM   #3
|ZOK|
Junior Member
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11
Default

it wouldn't get spread all over the discs cuz u have still specified in the vfs file just what dirs make up the same virtual dir.

I can use my ftp as an example:
I have /movies2/ on K: and /movies1/ on L:
They contain the exact same thing: movies.
Now I'm forced to have 2 virtual movie dirs instead of just one cuz they are on separate drives.
They are on separate drives not by choice but cuz one drive simply isn't enuff.
So this would be my vfs file:

Code:
"L:\_Movies1"	/Movies
"k:\_Movies2"	/Movies
with io putting it on K: or L: depending on which has more space left, but STILL choosing only /movies1/ or /movies2/ since these dirs are the only ones that make up the virtual dir /Movies

However, if there's a way of combining drives in Winblows, thats of course an option too.
U don't happen to know how to do that by the way ?
I don't have raid just an extra ide card
|ZOK| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 02:25 PM   #4
Mouton
Posse Member
Ultimate Scripter
ioFTPD Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,956
Default

Right-click My Computer, Manage, Disk Management.
Right-click each disk, Convert to Dynamic disk (this is not reversible btw).
Delete two partitions on 2 drives, re-create one partition normally. When done, right-click it and select Extend Volume... You'll then be able to choose the free space on the 2nd HD to extend the partition.
There's load more info on dynamic disks / partition spanning / stripping on msdn / google...
Mouton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 06:39 PM   #5
|ZOK|
Junior Member
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11
Default

Thx for the info, man
edit: hold yer horses...delete the partitions first ?!?
sure, 500 gigs of primo shit out the window...think i'll rather stick with 2 lame identical dirs :P
|ZOK| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 10:37 AM   #6
darkone
Disabled
FlashFXP Registered User
ioFTPD Administrator
 
darkone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,230
Default

Afak you only need to clean one of the drives. With 5 disk system:

1) Convert disk1 to dynamic
2) Clean disk 5
3) Extend disk1 to disk5
4) Move disk4 contents to disk1+5
5) Clean disk 4
6) Extend disk1+5 to disk4
5) Move disk3 contents to disk1+4+5
6) ...
darkone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 12:56 PM   #7
Mouton
Posse Member
Ultimate Scripter
ioFTPD Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,956
Default

12) ...
13) One of the HD fails.
14) Enjoy loosing content of all 5 disks.


Happened to me with a 2 disks volume... Was sad enough.
Mouton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 01:02 AM   #8
thewarden
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 194
Default

ZOK:

Do not use the MS software for spanning drives, that is about the
worst thing you can do with a site as the drives if used as an
upload drive will SOONER than later fail. I have as yet to see
it recover from a critial error.


If you wish to go this way:

4 device promise raid cards will do the job for you and it's
recovery system is far greater than most other addon cards.

6 device promise raid 5 style even better as you will almost
"NEVER" lose your system as there is a un-doc'ed fact that once
you use a raid 5 style, if any drive goes, replace it, kill the raid
setup, reset it - it is back...

I had 3 maxtor drives go on me and the sx6000 and supertrak
100 cards rebuilt the raid 5 each and every time...costly cards,
but you get what you pay for.

NOTE - never ever use a 160 or 180 gig drive for raided systems,
remain with 80, 120 and then to 200 + units as anything from
121 to 199 are all having issues.

TW
thewarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 01:05 AM   #9
darkone
Disabled
FlashFXP Registered User
ioFTPD Administrator
 
darkone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,230
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mouton
12) ...
13) One of the HD fails.
14) Enjoy loosing content of all 5 disks.


Happened to me with a 2 disks volume... Was sad enough.
That's why I choose raid5 (or raid1) over it ;p
darkone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dir, dirs, purposes, raided, uploads

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does FlashFXP Support SFTP Sites? Yes it does Pennix General Discussion 18 09-28-2008 11:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)