Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > >

Suggestions Post suggestions for upcoming versions

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2006, 11:37 PM   #1
liiight
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default Caching of folder sizes

Something that i would love to see, is caching of folders when getting ready to transfer a queue.

I mean that the program would actually open each of the folders in the queue and retrieve the exact size of it, for more exact transfer time estimation. It should also check the files themselves using the skip list and file exist rules, for a perfect size estimation of the transfer.

Naturally some people won't need or like the delay in the trasnfer because of this option, so this should be optional.

p.s

i seareched before i posted this, so i'm sorry if someone had already suggested this.
liiight is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 02:12 AM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,841
Default

right click in queue window, advanced, expand folder/expand all folders
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 05:21 PM   #3
Human
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 15
Default

it exists but too bad you have to do it by hand. should be in options to tick it as expand all folders before download
Human is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 05:58 PM   #4
liiight
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default

hey, didn't know that feature existed, thanks.

another thing, is that it doesn't calculate using the "file exist" and "skip list" options.
liiight is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 03:45 AM   #5
DayCuts
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 421
Default

Sort of on the same subject... i think it would be nice if folder sizes were included in the selected files information (ie. when you select a bunch of folders it would show the combined size)... atm this only works with files.

I'm not entirely sure if there is any standard to the format in which folder sizes are reported amung the ftpd's that do support it (mostly nix/bsd), but for the most part its always in bytes so it would be nice to include it in the calculation when relevent.
DayCuts is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 08:14 AM   #6
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DayCuts
I'm not entirely sure if there is any standard to the format in which folder sizes are reported amung the ftpd's that do support it (mostly nix/bsd), but for the most part its always in bytes so it would be nice to include it in the calculation when relevent.
actually in my experience servers do not accurately report dir size...just like when you do 'ls -al' from nix shells.
and there is no easy/standard way to know if a server is reporting an accurate size or not.

the only reliable way is to 'expand' queue so you count actual existing files
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 02:16 AM   #7
DayCuts
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 421
Default

I have experience with a number of ftpd's that as far as i can tell are fairly accurate, glftpd and drftpd namely are the ones that have always reported correctly in my experience. ioftpd also support the display of dir sizes... although i dont have a lot of experience with io it does seem to be on some sort of update timer or delay which makes new dirs sometimes inaccurate (im guessing while the listing is still in the server side cache or something, but really couldn't say).

As far as others go with inaccuracy/inconsistancy... i've not noticed anything myself but havn't looked into it much on other servers, most seem to either return 0 or a binary multiple of kb (approx 2,4,8 etc).. both of corse indicating that the feature isn't implemented.

Just to clarify, i wasn't suggesting those sizes be used in the queue/fxp time calculation in any way.. just used in the status line below the remote file listing where it tells you the number of files/folders you have selected and the bytes your selection adds up to.

Maybe more client side use of these would encourage more ftpd's to implement it correctly (or infact the underlying os to fix the bug, in the cases where it may be the distribution thats returning the wrong information).

Anyway, just thought i'd make the suggestion since its crossed my mind several times in the past while working with selections, could always be optional (with note about accuracy).. if indeed enough others are interested for it to be concidered.
DayCuts is offline  
 

Tags
caching, exact, folders, queue, transfer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)