Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2002, 09:11 AM   #1
Brandilton
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1
Lightbulb How I got a troublesome ftp to work behind a linksys router

I could not connect to a known working FTP site behind Linksys Router BEFSR41. This is what worked for me, no gaurantees.

Under Options>Preferences>Proxy/Firewall/Ident

1. Uncheck "Use Passive Mode"
2. Check "Limit Local Range"
3. Select a couple hundred ports (just to be safe) I used 1024-1224
4. Check "Bind local ports to this IP:"
5. Enter your external IP address
6. I upgraded to the latest Linksys BEFSR41 firmware (May 2002), not sure if this is mandatory or not
7. Go to the advanced tab then the forwarding tab
8. Open the ports that you specified in the "limit local range" for your internal ip address.

Good Luck, The linksys router has been great for me thus far, too bad this was a pain
Brandilton is offline  
Old 08-24-2002, 12:24 AM   #2
Nera
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
Default

i had problem with my netgear router before all i did was forward ports 20-23, but just setting my computer as the dmz works as well
Nera is offline  
Old 09-27-2002, 02:43 PM   #3
ToadFish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
Default

How I got a troublesome ftp to work behind a linksys router

Thanks Brandilton, I've got the same router and your suggestions helped me get into some of the sites I was having trouble with.
I still need to work on getting into the others.
ToadFish is offline  
Old 10-03-2002, 10:57 AM   #4
technicalx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1
Default

I understand the binding of the ports to the external IP but this would apply only if the DSL assigns a static IP. For all of us that get dynamic IP, are we just out of luck unable to connect FTP using PORT? Thanks for your help.
technicalx is offline  
Old 10-03-2002, 10:59 AM   #5
Linkster
Moderator
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,070
Default

i recommend you get dynamic domain name service, there are tons of them out there..then you just put something like mymachine.dynip.com as your ip and flashfxp will resolve it each time
Linkster is offline  
Old 11-28-2002, 08:31 AM   #6
JLR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 19
Default

what about a better way to explain on how to set up an FTP with Linksys Router.

http://www.linksysftp.org/index.php
JLR is offline  
Old 04-08-2003, 09:52 PM   #7
Eternity
Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 53
Default

That link explains how to set up an FTP *server*.
__________________
https://www.twitter.com/zecanard”]
[/URL]
Eternity is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 08:45 PM   #8
estrait
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Default How I got FTP to work with Linksys

Linksys BEFSR41 Firemware version 1.44.2, Dec 13 2002

On the Router, under Forwarding, enter some port ranges like 40000-40020, label it FTP Client, TCP Prot checked, send it to your IP on your machine.

On your client, Under Options | Preferences | Proxy / Firewall / Ident tab set the following...
Proxy Server.... Type = 0, Check use Pasv Mode

Firewall..... Check Limit Local port range and set the numbers to 40000 min and 40020 max or what ever it was you set on the router. Check Bind Sockets to this port and enter your IP or get a free DNS name like I did and enter the name instead.

Ident Server.... Leave at default (Disabled)

With these settings, I am able to get to other sites using PASV and PORT modes (PASV is prefered as PORT mode can be hijacked, but sometimes only PORT will work if the site isn't setup for PASV). And most of these sites I go to have routers of the like.

According to LinkSys, they say this won't work. It's true with some other FTP clients like Cute, FTP Voyger, Bulletproof as they don't offer this port setting inside the client. But with Flash we got it made
estrait is offline  
Old 04-21-2003, 05:02 PM   #9
panteranut25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Default

Thanks alot. I have an smc router and i couldn't figure out why i couldn't get on an ftp server that has a linksys router. Tried your settings worked the first time. Thanks again.
panteranut25 is offline  
Old 09-08-2003, 12:14 AM   #10
Pensador
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the tutorial, estrait!
Pensador is offline  
Old 10-27-2003, 04:06 PM   #11
navman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
Default

A lot of good info here. I'll try using some of it to get into sites that are giving me a problem. Thanks

navman
navman is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 11:52 PM   #12
chickenbak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Anybody with an SMC router could help with the settings?
chickenbak is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 12:04 AM   #13
chickenbak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 12
Default

I have some screenshots of the setup portions of the router... if anyone had some suggestions I would love to hear them. It seems Linksys and SMC have vastly different interfaces.

http://www.torquesteer.com/screens/screen1.jpg
http://www.torquesteer.com/screens/screen2.jpg

I apologize for the tiny font, I run at 1600 resolution, and had to size the images down. If you can't read it, I would be glad to retake the snapshots...

I am running the latest build of flash, windows 2003, no firewall except the SMC 2404 and Norton AV Corporate. Oh, and yes it is registered. Thanks!
chickenbak is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 01:48 PM   #14
chickenbak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Any responses? :/
chickenbak is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 09:43 PM   #15
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,831
Default

chickenbak, i think you'll have better luck taking a look at http://www.dslreports.com/forum/smc
these folks will know types of SMC routers..
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
 

Tags
check, linksys, local, ports, router

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)