Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2002, 06:13 PM   #1
blackwar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 9
Default corruption?

Hi,
I usually download large files from ftps like linux, etc. and i was wondering, if i directly just close FlashFXP from the X at the top right, without disconnecting from the server first, will the file become corrupted? Like will i be able to resume from the file?
Because these are fairly large files, i don't want to deal with redownloading...

Thanks in advance,
Blackwar
blackwar is offline  
Old 05-26-2002, 07:39 PM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,845
Default

flashfxp should correctly abort, disconnect and then close.
MxxCon is offline  
Old 05-26-2002, 07:55 PM   #3
blackwar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MxxCon
flashfxp should correctly abort, disconnect and then close.
Hrmmm..
what if i unexpectadly disconnect, or say, there is a blackout, and there is absolutely no time for flashfxp to do its closing routine.. Will that corrupt the file(s)?

Thanks
blackwar is offline  
Old 05-26-2002, 09:55 PM   #4
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

It shouldn't cause corruption, however we offer a rollback feature which is located on the main menu in Options > When File Exists.

By setting the rollback to 100K or so FlashFXP will resume 100K from the end of the file, just in case some corruption exists at the end of the file.
bigstar is offline  
Old 05-26-2002, 10:00 PM   #5
blackwar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 9
Default

hmm..
usually what do you recommend setting that to?
is about 10 k good?
cuz i have a dialup connection, so 100k is a bit too high since i resume very often
blackwar is offline  
Old 05-27-2002, 01:17 AM   #6
Shark
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 606
Default

100k at 5 k/s (dialup) is only 20 seconds...
Shark is offline  
Old 05-27-2002, 01:24 AM   #7
blackwar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shark
100k at 5 k/s (dialup) is only 20 seconds...
hmm ok, i set it at that now
i guess if it will prevent corrupted downloads, it is more than worth it
Thanks
blackwar is offline  
Old 05-27-2002, 04:41 AM   #8
Shark
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 606
Default

I mean you would think 50k would be fine .. but 100 is only 20 seconds & is what bigstar suggested.

But, up to you
Shark is offline  
Old 05-27-2002, 04:52 AM   #9
blackwar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shark
I mean you would think 50k would be fine .. but 100 is only 20 seconds & is what bigstar suggested.

But, up to you
well since the developer himself said 100kb, 100kb it is
blackwar is offline  
 

Tags
corrupted, file, files, large, resume

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)