Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2002, 06:06 PM   #1
DLight
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3
Default Flashfxp and routers - Which router to buy?

Hi there!

There seems to be alot of problems with routers and fxp'ing lately..

Can you guys suggest a router that will work flawlessly with Flashfxp?

Thx in advance
DLight
DLight is offline  
Old 04-19-2002, 11:23 PM   #2
DaDude
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default um

um...well there is not really a flaw in any router, it is just the end user knowing how to configure it and forward and such.

i do not thing special for my FlashFXP and my linksys router.

I have not done anything at all.
fxping does not use your computer either, so i do not know what you are talking about.
you connect to two other servers and then just transfer/drag and drop.

but maybe i'm missing something

ones i would sayd for home user..... Linksys or Netgear
DaDude is offline  
Old 04-20-2002, 07:29 AM   #3
DLight
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3
Default

Yeah, but some cheap routers have no options to configure idle timeouts and so on.. So I'd just like to hear what experiences people had with different routers.

But any well known brand will do?

/DLight
DLight is offline  
Old 04-20-2002, 08:25 AM   #4
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

I have a Linksys router and it does not allow site to site transfers on port 21. I'm not sure if it has an idle timeout value.
bigstar is offline  
Old 04-20-2002, 08:53 AM   #5
DLight
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3
Default

I see.. so you do not have any problems with a Linksys router.

I looked a bit at the Netgear RP114 router, and it seems to be quite nice for its price. I mailed their support asking for an idle timeout value changer, or if there is any, as I couldn't find any information on their homepage.
DLight is offline  
Old 04-20-2002, 09:35 AM   #6
DaDude
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default

bigstar which router do you have? Have you upgraded the fireware?

mine works fine.
DaDude is offline  
Old 05-03-2002, 08:07 PM   #7
Mancow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2
Default

I have a NETGEAR RP114 and I have a problem descriped in a previous topic with this error:
425 Cannot open data connection.
ABOR
226 ABOR command successful.
Transfer Failed!
TYPE A
200 Type set to A.
PORT XX,XX,XX,XX,9,137
200 PORT Command successful.

This happens on every transfer. I tried setting using a DMZ and it still didn't work. So I would say don't get a RP114 if you're a fan of fxp.
Mancow is offline  
Old 05-04-2002, 01:48 AM   #8
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DaDude
bigstar which router do you have? Have you upgraded the fireware?

mine works fine.
I have a Linksys BEFSR41, firmware 1.40.2, Oct 23 2001

I had two friends both setup a ftp server to allow me to test it and it didn't work on the standard port 21, we switched it to another port, port 2112 and that worked fine. My machine was in DMZ at the time.

I only tried to FXP that one time to see if there was some way to solve the problem. I didn't find one.
bigstar is offline  
 

Tags
flashfxp, guys, router, routers, suggest

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)