Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2002, 08:47 AM   #1
Lazer1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4
Default change drive on remote server

I am evaluating the FlashXP.
Before buying a license, I would like to know if and how I can change the drive letter on the remote computer ?

Thanks
Rudy
Lazer1 is offline  
Old 02-18-2002, 12:22 PM   #2
Linkster
Moderator
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,070
Default

Umm, if i understand you right, there is no ftp function in any ftp client that would let you change a drive letter on the server...sounds like you need remote control software or something.
Linkster is offline  
Old 02-18-2002, 12:52 PM   #3
Lazer1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4
Default

With WS_FTP LE you can do that by typing 'edrive' in the remote address bar. But U have issues running WS_FTP with XP.
The reaon is that I have several HDD on my server, and would like to upload files to them, of course.

Thanks
Rudy
Lazer1 is offline  
Old 02-18-2002, 01:14 PM   #4
Linkster
Moderator
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,070
Default

so you mean you want to be able to get TO your edrive, etc. using flashfxp...Sure! As long as the server is configured to share those drives, flashfxp can get to them....I suggest you download the trial and make sure flashfxp can do what you want.
Linkster is offline  
Old 02-18-2002, 01:51 PM   #5
Lazer1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4
Default

Well, I HAVE downloaded it and now I want to understand HOW I can access these other drives.
I can browse through all files in the window screen on the right, but only on the C drive...?
Have yoy tried this already ?

Thanks
Rudy
Lazer1 is offline  
Old 02-18-2002, 04:28 PM   #6
Fusion
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 542
Default

lazer1, if the server hasn't made it easy for you to change drives by making such shares as Linkster is talking about, you can still attempt to go to the drive manually. Make sure the remote-windows is selected, press ctrl-insert (or right-click and pick Change folder). Then type e:/ or whatever drive you need access to on the server. Assuming you have read-access to the drive/area, it'll show up in the remote-window.
Fusion is offline  
Old 02-19-2002, 05:18 AM   #7
Lazer1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4
Default

Fusion,

Just typing e:/ does not work. But I have found it !
You have to type: edrive/

Thanks all !

Rudy
www.lazerhothits.com
Lazer1 is offline  
Old 02-19-2002, 05:25 AM   #8
Fusion
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 542
Default

In that case edrive is the share, not the actual drive.
Glad you got it sorted!
Fusion is offline  
Old 02-20-2002, 08:03 AM   #9
Kibe
Member
FlashFXP Scripter
ioFTPD Foundation User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 75
Default

You can also use /e:/ in the directory field...

It'll work if you have rights to access this drive...
Kibe is offline  
 

Tags
change, computer, drive, remote, rudy

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)