Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2004, 10:42 AM   #1
tonguefu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default Server reboot necessary?

When making changes to my ProFTPd.conf file to enable FXP, do I need to reboot the server afterwards to get ProFTP to read the .conf file changes?

Also, why are the two high numbered ports 49152 and 65534 sometimes necessary? Do I need to enable these 2 ports on both FTP servers?
tonguefu is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 11:24 AM   #2
slash
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 122
Default Re: Server reboot necessary?

Quote:
Originally posted by tonguefu
When making changes to my ProFTPd.conf file to enable FXP, do I need to reboot the server afterwards to get ProFTP to read the .conf file changes?

Also, why are the two high numbered ports 49152 and 65534 sometimes necessary? Do I need to enable these 2 ports on both FTP servers?
Uh.... how does this relate to FlashFXP?
slash is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:12 PM   #3
tonguefu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Re: Server reboot necessary?

Quote:
Originally posted by slash
Uh.... how does this relate to FlashFXP?
In order to make FXP work for site 2 site transfers, you need to make changes to the existing FTP environment on your servers. Making such changes involves editing the configuration files of the server's FTP software. In the ProFTP environment, I'm supposed to add the AllowForeignAddress = on parameter.

My question is, after editing the configuration files and adding this statement, do I then need to reboot each server.
tonguefu is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:29 PM   #4
slash
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 122
Default Re: Re: Re: Server reboot necessary?

Quote:
Originally posted by tonguefu
In the ProFTP environment, I'm supposed to add the AllowForeignAddress = on parameter.

My question is, after editing the configuration files and adding this statement, do I then need to reboot each server.
Please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, but your question seems to be about ProFTP. This is a support forum for FlashFXP. I'd suggest that you perhaps consider submitting your question to a ProFTP support board.
slash is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:40 PM   #5
tonguefu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I was hoping somebody on this board had the experience in this area. Apparently not. I guess I'm the first person in history to try and actually do site 2 site transfers using this product. Some 'support" forum this is.
tonguefu is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:57 PM   #6
DYN_DaTa
Senior Member
FlashFXP Scripter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 346
Default

tonguefu, try asking here and be sure to read the docs.
__________________
Sapere Aude
DYN_DaTa is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:57 PM   #7
Harm
Too much time...
Ultimate Scripter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,430
Default

The best place for support for proFTPD might indeed be their own website.
Have a look to this section of their documentation, it explains what to do to enable support for FXP. It says that reloading the configuration will suffice after editing the .conf file.
Harm is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 08:31 PM   #8
Linkster
Moderator
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,070
Default

don't reboot your server...just do "service proftpd restart" as root from the command line
Linkster is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 05:42 PM   #9
tonguefu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you!!!!
tonguefu is offline  
 

Tags
enable, file, ftp, fxp, reboot

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sock problem Gip Bug Reports 1 01-26-2003 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)