Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2004, 11:40 AM   #16
Ryguy786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 22
Exclamation Extremely low transfer speeds, Please help

Running windows 98, evaluation copy of flash FXP Ftping files to my xbox. Im only getting 30 kb/s. I have my lan setup like this.

Cable Modem->Uplink
PC->Port 1
xbox->Port 2

I have also tried changing the upload packet sizes, not much of a change, few kb/s. I heard you can FTP without using my cable modem, but I dont know how.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Ryguy786 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 01:20 PM   #17
slash
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 122
Default

I need more information about your cable modem for this, but from the way you stated it, it seems your 'cable modem' is both modem and router?

Post the information indicated here.
slash is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 01:41 PM   #18
Ryguy786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slash
I need more information about your cable modem for this, but from the way you stated it, it seems your 'cable modem' is both modem and router?

Post the information indicated here.
My cable modem isnt my modem and router...how did u get that?
My setup is
CABLE MODEM------uplink of hub
PC---------------------Port 1 of hub
Xbox-------------------Port 2 of hub

See I have 1 NIC thing in the back off my comp, and I use a cable modem. So i need a hub to hook my xbox to my PC, unless there is a way to do it without using my cable modem.

Here is my info

* FlashFXP -evaluation copy
* OS Win98
* Running behind NAT/router-...yes? the hub?
* Running firewall-No
* Running Antivirus-yes, Norton anti-virus 2003
* Network-Cable
Ryguy786 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 05:29 PM   #19
Ryguy786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 22
Exclamation Connecting my xbox to my PC through a linksys Router??

Im setup like this.

Xbox--->Port 2 of the linksys router
PC-----> Port 1 of the linksys router
Cable Modem -----> Uplink of the linksys router

Im running windows 98, evaluation copy of FlashFxp, and I have Cable (as you can see)

I am also running norton anti-virus 2003, but i disabled auto protect.

Im transfering at slow speeds (30k/s) because I think I need to eliminate my cable modem from my setup. When I unplug my modem, I cannot connect to my xbox then.

I hear about setting up the tcp/Ip in network settings, so I specify myself an Ip, but then I lose internet connection and I don't know what to do next! I dont know what settings I need to change in flashFxp or if I need an FTP server or what! The thread about the linksys router didnt help me because I dont have the same model either!

Im also running AvaLaunch dash on my xbox.
Ryguy786 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 07:27 PM   #20
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,840
Default

threads merged 3 times since it's the same issue.
making many threads on exactly same topic will not solve your issue any faster
(do it again and i'll just delete them)
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 07:30 PM   #21
Ryguy786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Wow, what the crap? Slow xbox transfers and asking how to set up my xbox through lan are different.
Ryguy786 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 07:33 PM   #22
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,840
Default

in all your posts you are complaining about 30k/s xbox transfers.
this is FlashFXP support forum...

setting up lan is beyond the scope of this forum.
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 08:04 PM   #23
Ryguy786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MxxCon
in all your posts you are complaining about 30k/s xbox transfers.
this is FlashFXP support forum...

setting up lan is beyond the scope of this forum.

So, im sure people here have done it.
I was just giving facts abotut the current situation, plus you would complain too if u had 30k/s instead of 5000 k/s
Ryguy786 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 08:19 PM   #24
Hetfield
Senior Member
FlashFXP Scripter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 334
Default

Maybe it's better to read some network docs than to complain here? If you want to setup some networking and you don't even know the ping command you really have some reading to catch up.
Hetfield is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 08:39 PM   #25
slash
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ryguy786
So, im sure people here have done it.
I was just giving facts abotut the current situation, plus you would complain too if u had 30k/s instead of 5000 k/s
A couple of points. First of all, this is the FlashFXP support forum. From what you've stated, I don't see you having a problem with FlashFXP. Also, it typically pays to be nice to high-ranking members of a forum. Getting MxxCon pissed will only hurt your cause.
slash is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 01:17 AM   #26
Ryguy786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hetfield
Maybe it's better to read some network docs than to complain here? If you want to setup some networking and you don't even know the ping command you really have some reading to catch up.
You seriously dont think I havnt tried that? Christ...


And its pretty hypocritical to say that the networking through a router and eliminating a cable modem is unneccessary on this forum considering you have it right above this post routing through a linksys.

Christ, dont think I was intentionally trying to piss you off and spam, I made a networking post about my hub, the fact that I mentioned my upload speed doesnt mean it was the topic.
Chill out

Oh and It's not like im being mean to mmxcon and pissing him off for my pleasure, jeeze guys....
Ryguy786 is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 01:54 AM   #27
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,840
Default

ok, let's start over.
there is no internet connection sharing feature in win98, it's only in winxp.

start from the simplest config
connect your pc directly to your xbox without any hubs or routers or modems.
try transfering files.
if you still get slow speed then it's something on your system,
if speed is normal, add your hub/router(btw, which one is it? in some posts you say hub, in other you say router? they are very different things so you need to be specific).
if after connecting it your speeds slow down then it's something to do with your hub/router. otherwise keep connecting additional devices untill you restore your previous config.
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 02:15 AM   #28
Ryguy786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MxxCon
ok, let's start over.
there is no internet connection sharing feature in win98, it's only in winxp.

start from the simplest config
connect your pc directly to your xbox without any hubs or routers or modems.
try transfering files.
if you still get slow speed then it's something on your system,
if speed is normal, add your hub/router(btw, which one is it? in some posts you say hub, in other you say router? they are very different things so you need to be specific).
if after connecting it your speeds slow down then it's something to do with your hub/router. otherwise keep connecting additional devices untill you restore your previous config.
Ok, Its a Hub I guess since it says 5 port work group Hub on it. I only have 1 NIC ethernet plugin in the back of my PC. My Tv and my PC are very far away, thats one more reason for the Hub. Its late now, but tomorrow I will bring another TV down and plug it in close to my comp. I will try directly to my xbox to PC. The thing is, Ive tried Xbox to Hub to PC and its never connected.

I do apologize, this is just extremely frusterating.

Oh, another thing, does anyone think leaving an xbox on for 10 hours is a bad idea? I wouldnt think it would overheat, but yeah, you never know. Im gonna just leave my FTP transfering at 30k/s overnight tonight though.
Ryguy786 is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 02:40 AM   #29
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,840
Default

you could just connect your monitor to your xbox, configure/setup whatever you need to and then reconnect it back to pc
regarding how long it can be on and how to make pc and xbox work with a hub, i'd suggest you look at xbox related forums
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 10:04 AM   #30
Ryguy786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MxxCon
you could just connect your monitor to your xbox, configure/setup whatever you need to and then reconnect it back to pc
regarding how long it can be on and how to make pc and xbox work with a hub, i'd suggest you look at xbox related forums
This may sound stupid, but how would I connect my monitor to my xbox? There's no ethernet.
Ryguy786 is offline  
 

Tags
connection, flashfxp, internet, on/off, sharer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multiple event tags iszmatic Suggestions 2 10-29-2002 03:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)