Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2004, 06:55 AM   #1
Andyf
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default Ok from work, fails from home

I recently purchased FlashFxp (rather than cute) and have been happily using the system from my portable at work.
Come home and I can still see the websites for ftp but whilst they will download happily, uploading is a hit and mainly miss affair.
The best I have managed is whilst maintaining a background NT command box ftp session, when it works OK.

Usually the first 2k of the file gets transmitted and then it collapses the speed to 0 and fails

FlashFxp v2.1 build 924
O/S win 98 and NT 4 (so not likely a simple OS problem)
Router Netgear DG834 to plusnet ADSL (home 500k and fails)
2mb link to easynet (work... this one is fine)

Any one else had similar problems and is there any way I can get the FlashFxp to work without having a background dos FTP session open?

I suspect the Router or the ADSL network gateway but need to be able to point convincingly if I want anyone to remove digit.
Andyf is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 05:34 PM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,839
Default

do your transfers eventually timeout?
do you get any error messages?
try to enable "Send NOOP during transfer" from "Proxy/Firewall/Ident" tab and see if that makes any difference. (if it doesn't disable it again to prevent other problems)
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 06:04 PM   #3
Andyf
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default A Typical event from the log

227 Entering Passive Mode (213,171,193,5,147,76).
LIST
logging onto site blah blah ...
Attaches ok and shows the directory contents... usually on one site , but not on another.

125 File status okay; about to open data connection.
226 Closing data connection.
List Complete: 780 bytes in 0.44 (0.76 KBps)
TYPE I
200 Type set to I.
PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (213,171,193,5,147,164).
STOR 001.inc
150 File status okay; about to open data connection.
226 Closing data connection.
Transferred: 001.inc 1 KB in 2.15 (0.68 KBps)
TYPE A
200 Type set to A.
PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (213,171,193,5,147,169).
STOR 001.shtml
150 File status okay; about to open data connection.
426 Data connection closed abnormally.
Transfer Failed!
PASV

...

Something screwy is going on as a DOS box FTP works fine
so it cant be the router screwing up, or can it?

Given that the portable works no problems from the office and I have an identical network at home (i.e. lan subnet, addresses etc ) I usually have no problems. e.g. FTP the Dos way.

I know I am missing something .... like it working.
Andyf is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 06:10 PM   #4
Andyf
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default Noop = No change

Tried nooping during transfer, the Noop works but the transfer ...

200 Type set to I.
PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (213,171,193,5,242,47).
STOR 002.inc
150 File status okay; about to open data connection.
200 NOOP Command successful.
Transferred: 002.inc 3 KB in 48.11 (0.07 KBps)
TYPE A
426 Data connection closed abnormally.
TYPE A
200 Type set to A.
PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (213,171,193,5,242,150).
STOR 002.shtml
150 File status okay; about to open data connection.
200 NOOP Command successful.
426 Data connection closed abnormally.
Transfer Failed!
PASV

N'oops...
Andyf is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 06:43 PM   #5
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

I believe the the command line ftp program doesn't use passive mode by default so try turning off passive mode in FlashFXP
bigstar is offline  
Old 02-06-2004, 05:39 AM   #6
Andyf
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default Will give it a try but ...

Will give it a try but that dosnt explain why FlashFxp works as is from the office (with passive) but not from home.

I have finally managed to locate a ref manual for the router so lets see what that reveals.
Andyf is offline  
Old 02-07-2004, 01:25 PM   #7
Andyf
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default bouncing between firewalls

I think I may have sussed it out.
My Zone Alarm firewall and the Netgear firewall were losing stuff between them.

Whilst the Zone Alarm settings didnt cause problems at work (through the office LAN firewall) they were excluding some traffic at home (?), anyway setting the zone alarm to trust the site I am FTP'ing to seems to have done the trick. along with turning off PASV.

Thanks for the suggestions
Andyf is offline  
 

Tags
fails, flashfxp, ftp, home, work

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)