Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2003, 09:06 PM   #1
seanr
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 37
Default Transfers and lists failing with one server

* FlashFXP v2.1, build 924, registered
* OS - Win2K
* Running behind NAT/router - No
* Running firewall - Yes, Kerio personal firewall
* Running Antivirus - No
* Network - Dail-Up


The problem occurs both with and without the firwall running, so I am certain that is not the culprit. Additionally, it only happens with this server - other servers running the same version of ProFTPD do not have any problems at all. I am running in passive mode, however it fails with passive turned off as well. Additionally, I am unable to transfer from the site with the commandlineFTP either, so this isn't really a FlashFXP problem so much as a server problem (though the ISP insists there's nothing wrong on their end). I have not problems connecting to this site from my computer at work (I tried that one with the FlashFXP trial and it worked), even though that network is connected through the same ISP (VisiNet). Any idea why it would work through the LAN (with a T1, firewall and the works), but not through dialup? Any idea why it would only affect one server? Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. The hosting provider's answer was to suggest backing everything up, dumping the account, rebuilding it, then reuploading the site, but that's extremely drastic, and I honestly doubt it will work anyway, since the problem isn't the user account.

Here's the log:

WinSock 2.0
Connecting to tidewater4dean
Connected to tidewater4dean -> IP=64.246.62.46 PORT=21
220-...
220 ProFTPD 1.2.8 Server (ProFTPD) [pro20.msshost.com]
USER (hidden)
331 Password required for (hidden).
PASS (hidden)
230 User (hidden) logged in.
SYST
215 UNIX Type: L8
REST 100
350 Restarting at 100. Send STORE or RETRIEVE to initiate transfer
REST 0
350 Restarting at 0. Send STORE or RETRIEVE to initiate transfer
CWD /www/
250 CWD command successful.
PWD
257 "/public_html" is current directory.
TYPE A
200 Type set to A
PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (64,246,62,46,179,36).
Data Socket Error: Connection timed out
List Error

It does not actually disconnect at that point, though I can't transfer anything at all (same error), so the connection is useless.
seanr is offline  
Old 09-10-2003, 11:33 PM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,862
Default

hmm..could that your ffxp install somehow got corrupted/something similar..
try to redownload ffxp and install it to a new dir and see if problem still exist.
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 09-11-2003, 09:48 AM   #3
seanr
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 37
Default

How could that possibly be the case? Wouldn't that cause it to not work for all FTP servers? It's only doing it with one server, leading me to believe it has something to do with that server's environment.
seanr is offline  
Old 09-11-2003, 03:57 PM   #4
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,862
Default

it takes very little effort to try this to reinstall ffxp so...

it's very strange that when you are on a "limited" connection, ie behind firewall, the site works, but when on an open connection w/ dailup you would have problems..
can you paste status log when you try to connect in PORT mode?

another thing, i know you are running Kerio firewall, but did you scan your system for spyware? some of those nasties are replacing winsock files which can cause all sorts of problems..
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 09-11-2003, 04:06 PM   #5
seanr
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 37
Default

Alright, I'll try it later. I just installed the latest update last night and that made no difference, but I'll try installing a second copy in a different location.

I ran AdAware a couple of weeks ago and didn't have any problems.
seanr is offline  
 

Tags
hidden, problem, running, server, transfer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)