Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2003, 07:02 PM   #1
majik1213
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5
Question Need to know how to ...

... auto-resume on transfer recommencements. When I do not click the resume button in 30 seconds or less, it automatically overwrites the file I'm attempting to transfer. I need to know how to turn off auto-overwrite, and turn on auto-resume.

* FlashFXP v[2].[1], build [924], [ ]registered, [X (Currently)]unregistered, [ ]pirated
* OS [ X ] WinXP, [] Win2K, [ ] Win98, [ ] WinME, [ ] Other
* Running behind NAT/router [X] Yes & Model [Irelevant], [ ] No, [ ] Not sure
* Running firewall [ ] Yes, Name [ ], Ver. [ ], or [X] No
* Running Antivirus [X] Yes, Name [Symantec AntiVirus 2002] or [ ] No
* Network [] xDSL, [X ] CABLE, [ ] Dial-Up, [ ] Other
majik1213 is offline  
Old 08-03-2003, 07:09 PM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,839
Default

Options, "File Exist Rules.."
configure it the way you want to
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 08-03-2003, 07:11 PM   #3
majik1213
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Like I went to file exist rules and everything, but here's the problem/complaint: Why can't I select auto resume on larger files? I mean, common sense says that if any of my four options are to go first, overwrite should be the one since it completely erases large files and starts anew. Common sense also suggests that auto-resume should be the LAST to go, yet it is the first in reality. Why is this/how do I fix it?
majik1213 is offline  
Old 08-03-2003, 08:36 PM   #4
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,839
Default

i'm sorry but i don't exactly understand what you said

how do you imagine to "resume" a file that is larger?
when a file is smaller flashfxp uploads whatever is missing to make both files the same size.
from which point should flashfxp "resume" a file if destination is larger?
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 08-04-2003, 10:03 AM   #5
majik1213
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I don't think I understand exactly what you're asking. When a file is larger, the destination is naturally going to be larger as well. So why cannot I resume these large files?
majik1213 is offline  
Old 08-04-2003, 06:57 PM   #6
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,839
Default

you were transfering a file 100k in size from site a to site b.
site a crashed at 50k
you found same file at site c, but it has but only 25k
how do you image to resume transfering from site c to site b if destination file is larger?
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 12:00 AM   #7
majik1213
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Oh, I think I mis-explained. I was transferring a 280 MB file from site A to my hard drive. I lost connection at 90 MB and reconnected to site A again. I could not select auto-resume from the menu because such an option didn't exist, which frustrated me because the bigger the file, the bigger my desire to have auto-resume instead of auto-overwrite. How do I fix this?
majik1213 is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 12:14 AM   #8
HoffY
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Try "Options" pull down menu. Then go to "File Exist Rules..." and configer to suit your desires.
HoffY is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 01:35 AM   #9
majik1213
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Hoffy:
As aforementioned, for some odd reason I cannot select auto-resume for larger files such as the 280 MB download I am attempting to perform.
majik1213 is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 04:20 AM   #10
HoffY
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Hmm... it shouldnt matter about the file size or not. It could be 4GB file you are trying to download and aslong as the part you have downloaded has the same name and you're downloading tot he same place it will resume i fyou tell it to.

The only other thing i can think of is if the FTP or site you are downloading from can _not_ support file resume. Then it will have to start from teh beginning andyou wont have any say in the matter. I suspect this is what you may be experiencing.
HoffY is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 08:03 AM   #11
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,839
Default

majik1213, your situation is when distination file is SMALLER not larger.
Attached Thumbnails
Need to know how to ...-image1-png  
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
 

Tags
antivirus, auto-resume, running, turn, [x]

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)