Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2003, 10:07 PM   #1
joanne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
Question Probably the stupidest question in the world......

but I gotta ask it anyways. But first a disclaimer..

I have been working on a page for my church http://www.mb-on.paoc.org/neepawa/

This is my first time at this and I really know squat about anything techie or and even less jargon so to say the least it has become quite the experiance!!

Anyways, I have done the index page in Front Page and published to the web. It seems to have taken the whole kit and kabudle right off my c-drive. I say that because I was just expecting it to "copy" it to the server and still leave me my original on my c drive.. anyways.........

I now have a gif picture that I want to add to the file on my server. It is in "my pictures".
I, for the life of me, can't figure out how to do that. MS Photodraw does not have a publish to web option and I can't seem to get flashfxp to search "my documents" for things to upload.

Am I missing something very significant here

ughhhhh...
my eyes are going buggy,

JO
joanne is offline  
Old 06-13-2003, 12:23 AM   #2
MidKnight
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 857
Default

you would use frontpage to insert the picture to the page you want, then upload that changed page. but in this case you would be better of using the publish within FP, cause it will upload only the changed pages for you
MidKnight is offline  
Old 06-13-2003, 09:09 AM   #3
joanne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks Mr. MidKnight,

The picture I want to use however is not actually "part" of a page.
It would be part of a sequence of in a "slideshow" effect.

So I actually have nothing to "insert" it into.

Clear as mud?
joanne is offline  
Old 06-13-2003, 12:50 PM   #4
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,838
Default

did you read FlashFXP's tutorial located on the main page? more specificly this http://www.flashfxp.com/tutorial.php?s=Step3

why can't you select "My Docs"? it's at the buttom of the list..
Attached Thumbnails
Probably the stupidest question in the world......-image1-png  
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 06-14-2003, 06:53 PM   #5
joanne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
Default

Hi thanks for your thoughts,

I have read the tutorial but nothing seemed to be applicable to my situation.

I do click on that file icon, it comes up titled "parent documents" but nothing seems to drop down. It is empty.

I am using Flashfxp version 2.1 and my os is msxp. Not sure what else you are asking me.. sorry....

I do know that this should by no means be this difficult and i am sure it is a stupid simple mistake... but I ain't getting it.
joanne is offline  
Old 06-14-2003, 07:01 PM   #6
joanne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
Default

ohhhhh goody!!!

Me thinks me stumbled on to something!!!!!

Under "view" , "ftp only" seems to need to be checked then it all came up.

Yipeee!!!

Thank you all, you must have been praying for the crazy blonde!!!! (Must have been that Mr. Mxxconn from hell!!! )

I'll humbly let you know if I screw this up!!!

Thanks oddles and oodles!!

JO
joanne is offline  
Old 06-14-2003, 07:07 PM   #7
MidKnight
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 857
Default

arrr yes you were in FTP mode, you can quickly switch between the 2 views by the using the last icon on the right for each plane.
MidKnight is offline  
Old 06-14-2003, 07:36 PM   #8
joanne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
Default

ok next question,

probably should have started a new thread but this is most likely just as stupid...

This is my site http://www.mb-on.paoc.org/neepawa

now.. is that what I enter as my IP adress?

Do I have to enter it as a remote address as well?

It does not want to connect and I know that I have the password and username correct

Is there someway I can enter the appropriate info right from the site while I'm there?

ughhhh,
fusteratingly yours,
JO
joanne is offline  
Old 06-14-2003, 07:41 PM   #9
MidKnight
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 857
Default

the one that is hosting this for you should tell you the address/IP you need to use to access this. once you have this info you can easy enter it by pressing F8 in flashfxp

Which of course if the IP that matched that domain you can use it or use its IP of 216.81.16.80
MidKnight is offline  
Old 06-14-2003, 08:15 PM   #10
joanne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
Default

ok, just to make sure now.. I got a whole wack of numbers and dots here . Is that what I am looking for. Is that all that goes in?

And where exactly would I enter the url address. Is that the remote site?

Phew.. we're gonna get this yet.

(pretty sad that this is all a girl has to do on a Saturday nite,huh? lol)
joanne is offline  
Old 06-14-2003, 08:21 PM   #11
MidKnight
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 857
Default

well that numbers and dots are the IP address (the remote site)

so in flashfxp press F8, then enter the IP in the "server or URL" field, the the port is more than likely 21, then enter your username and password, now press connect.

if all done right, flashfxp wil now log you into your ftp site where u can do what you need to do
MidKnight is offline  
 

Tags
figure, life, page, server, web

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help newbie chadwick General Discussion 1 01-19-2005 12:55 AM
Ctrl + no longer works in 3.0 Keymaster General Discussion 8 08-16-2004 12:01 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)