Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

Old 06-07-2003, 02:45 PM   #1
billycert

Default How is FXP working in details?

Hi, All;

I am a newbie here. I read FAQ and help on flashFXP site, neither clearly stated how FXP is working in details.

After I connect to both FTP site, when I started FXP between sites, a data channel initiated between these sites? Who initiats the data channel between them by default? Will it works if my flashFXP connects to one site via active ftp and another site via passive ftp?

What is the deferent behavior between the default and the "Alternatice FXP method" What does the "downloading(no pasv)" or "uploading(pasv)" switch change the benavior of both ftp server or the flashfxp client?

If both ftp servers are behind of firewall, what port needs to be open for fxp? What about NAT, will it work?

Please help me or point me to a direction where I can find the answer.

I kept getting
"Transfer Failed!
1 File failed to transfer
Server Error, Aborted"

Thanks

billy
Old 06-07-2003, 03:15 PM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester

check out http://slacksite.com/other/ftp.html for explanation of ftp protocol. once you understand that, you'll understand how fxp works.

in order for FXP transfer to work one server MUST support passive connection and other MUST support "active" connection.
you send PASV command to one server, that server will reply with ip and port it will await connection at.
you send PORT command to the other server with ip and port that the server above specified.
"Alternative FXP" switches those commands around, PASV become PORT and PORT become PASV. this is usefull when some sites are misconfigured, behind firewall/nat or are configured not to connect to ip other than the ones user used to connect with.