Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2003, 05:20 AM   #1
fergie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default I Nedd Help Please!!!

hi,i'm new with this program and i have a problem.when i connect to a ftp server,everything goes well(user and pass)until it says this:

PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode(142,179,9,116,47,192)
Data Socket Error:Connection timed out

what is the problem of this
please help
thanks
fergie is offline  
Old 03-04-2003, 05:27 AM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,839
Default

not enough info
and VERY bad post title. how the hell can anybody know what you need help with.
please provide more info and in the future use a title that describes the content of your post.
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 03-04-2003, 05:31 AM   #3
fergie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default

as i said,i'm new with this
what infos do you need and i'll tell you
this is what happens-everything goes well until this problem shows
p.s.sorry about the title
fergie is offline  
Old 03-04-2003, 06:43 AM   #4
MidKnight
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 857
Default

first thing, if you dont have passive mode "on", then turn it on, see if that helps you

F6>proxy/firewall
MidKnight is offline  
Old 03-04-2003, 07:05 AM   #5
fergie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default

in the site manager/options i selected uploading(PASV)
doesn't help
thanks anyway
fergie is offline  
Old 03-04-2003, 07:08 AM   #6
MidKnight
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 857
Default

are you talking about the alternate FXP mode here?, cause i wasn't. the error you are seeing could be many reasons, but heres 2 good ones

1) the ftp isn't setup correctly behind a firewall
2) if your behind a firewall or the other etc ,you will most likey need "PASSIVE MODE" turn on
MidKnight is offline  
Old 03-04-2003, 07:10 AM   #7
MidKnight
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 857
Default

actually reading your post again, looks like you have passive mode on, so in this case try setting passive mode "off" in the site manager for this site.

can you access other sites ok?, if you can and know your set ok, then try the IP Masq setting for this site
MidKnight is offline  
Old 03-04-2003, 07:18 AM   #8
fergie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default

thanks a lot mate,i tried with IP mask and that really helps
many thanks again
fergie is offline  
Old 03-04-2003, 07:22 AM   #9
MidKnight
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 857
Default

your welcome
MidKnight is offline  
 

Tags
227, data, entering, passive, socket

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
REQ: bigstar, why not make your Freeware Open Source? #1 Stunna Software 4 01-04-2002 09:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)