Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2003, 04:05 AM   #1
Basejumper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Default Strange Problem

I have a Broadband link and try to connect to a friends ftp server. I get the Connection Status up, but then time's out. I then use a Dial up connection and connect first time.

The only time I can connect is if he switches off his local firewall. I have had access to his server for years and never had a problem and none of my friends have a problem.

The port number used is 7676, which is not barred by my Firewall, I have tried every setting in Flash I can, but nothing changes. The only different I see is Dialup via ISP 0K, but via Broadband a problem. Any idea's would be most welcome.
Basejumper is offline  
Old 02-08-2003, 01:10 PM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,831
Default

not enough info
what's your os?
what's your flashfxp build?
what's your firewall?
paste timestamped status log from flashfxp
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 02-08-2003, 01:46 PM   #3
Basejumper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Thxs for looking at this.

1. WindowsXP SP1
2. FlashFXP v2.0 Build869
3. McAfee Firewall with latest updates
4. Log

*** Log Opened: 08/02/2003 09:29:39
WinSock 2.0
Connecting to 138.xx.xx.xxx
Connected to 138.xx.xx.xxx Port 7676
Connection failed
Delaying for 120 seconds before reconnect attempt #1
Retry attempt Aborted
*** Log Closed: 08/02/2003 09:31:25

Hope this helps. Thxs again.
Basejumper is offline  
Old 02-08-2003, 02:14 PM   #4
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,831
Default

it appears that either site is down or your firewall is blocking the access

build 869 is old unsupported version. upgrade to latest available version.
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 02-08-2003, 02:44 PM   #5
Basejumper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Default

I'd agree wholly with your thoughts, but a dial up link works fine, which eliminates the Firewall or Site down. I can speak with him as I attempted to login and switch from Broadband to Dial up and then it works. Is there some setting I'm missing here ?
Basejumper is offline  
Old 02-08-2003, 05:03 PM   #6
caldude
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4
Default firewall

I think maybe the built in XP firewall is enabled for your broadband connection. Goto Control Panel > Network Connections.....Right click on your broadband connection and go to properties......then advanced. If firewall is clicked on, then unclick it.
caldude is offline  
Old 02-09-2003, 07:02 AM   #7
Basejumper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Thxs m8, no firewall flag set and I have my McAfee Firewall now switched off whilst I test. The only difference I can see is that the Broadband link has the Auth, Enable Network Access Control box ticked. Using EAP Certificate, on a IEEE 802.1X network. I thought this was to ensure that my server has Authority to use the Broadband server when I connect and should not effect connections elsewhere, might be wrong though, again anybody any thoughts, as I do not think this is the problem
Basejumper is offline  
 

Tags
connect, connection, firewall, problem, time

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xbox connect error thebucketmouse General Discussion 2 11-02-2004 11:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)