Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

General Discuss anything and everything related to FlashFXP

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2002, 02:45 AM   #1
waters
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 16
Default queue stalling - behind a router - ARGG!!

ok well i could start off by telling you what version of flashfxp i am using but since this problem isn't version spacific i can skip that part....


here is what i have setup:

cablemodem to a DLink PIECE OF **** wireless *802.11b* router.. that router has 2 pc's, one is mine (wireless) and one is my roommates (wired)

the problem is on both of the pc's, what pisses me off is its intermitent ;/..

here is what happens.. SOMETIMES when i queue stuff, after the first file or so , it will stall , soemtimes it will hang long enough for me to get disconnected *60second idle*

example:

Skipping: teg-cmiyc-cd1.part12.rar (sits here for 10seconds)
PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (xxx,99,xxx,10,15,255)
PORT xxx,99,xxx,10,15,255 (sits here for 20seconds-1min)
200 PORT Command successful.
STOR whatever.rar
150 Opening BINARY mode data connection for whatever.rar
RETR whatever.rar

check this out..

Transferred: whatever.rar 14.31 MB in 7.09 (2,064.91 KBps)

good speeds right? nope.. cause it takes 30seconds-2min inbetween files, ,usually i am reconnecting after every other file... so my fxp that should take 10+min is taking 2+hr just cuase of this damn stalling thing !!!


i stick myself in DMZ mode , no apparent change (remember this problem isn't consistant , it is USUALLY happening but like 10% of the time i don't have a problem)..

no software firewalls on my pc, also i just formated and installed win2k w/ sp3 (so its not my os)

any ideas on a workaround ? is this 100% my router? there is no way to change ANY kind of timeout setting on this pos so please don't ask me to do that , just give me a 'fix' ) hehe

anything will be greatly appreachated ..
waters is offline  
Old 12-28-2002, 05:26 PM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,841
Default

it is most likely your router that closes idle connections.
since you can't change such value in your router, try checking "send noop during transfer" on "proxy/firewall/ident" tab. it might solve your problem, keep in mind that this option is incompatible with some servers and will cuase problems.
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 12-28-2002, 06:23 PM   #3
waters
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 16
Default ;/

thanks bro, i think i tried that already and got some errors back from the server but i'll give it another go..

my other option is to go from cablemodem -> my pc -> another NIC -> wireless switch -> another pc that is just used for browsing the web ..


that is an option but not one i wanted to take .. didn't want to use ICS hehe ..


thanks guys..
waters is offline  
 

Tags
change, mode, problem, router, whatever.rar

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xbox to pc meggo General Discussion 3 05-07-2005 03:15 AM
No UTF8 or Unicode Support! Tahattmeruh Software 1 12-02-2002 06:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)