Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

Bug Reports Report bugs here. (non-beta releases only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2002, 05:15 PM   #1
Gary King
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 90
Exclamation FlashFXP doesn't keep its settings

Important Information

FLASH FXP VERSION: 2.0 build 901
OS: Windows XP Home edition
Misc.: I am using the user-defined settings for FlashFXP


I used to have FlashFXP 1.4.3 installed until yesterday, when I finally decided to install 2.0. The problem that I am having, is that my FlashFXP never keeps its settings (i.e. Sites in the Site Manager, everything in Preferences, etc.) So basically, it resets the following file(s) to default status:
  • Bookmarks.dat
  • FLASHFXP.INI
  • quick.dat
  • Sites.dat
  • Stats.dat

I hope there's some way to fix this.

Thanks
Gary King is offline  
Old 10-30-2002, 05:25 PM   #2
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Make sure none of those files are marked as read-only.

If that still doesn't solve the problem and you don't mind re-doing your settings you can delete all of those files. They will be recreated from default.
bigstar is offline  
Old 10-31-2002, 10:13 PM   #3
Gary King
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 90
Default

Non of those files are marked as read-only, and deleting the files and re-setting the preferences doesn't help as well.

Any other solutions? It gets quite annoying when I have to re-set the options for my FlashFXP.

Blak n Wite
Gary King is offline  
Old 10-31-2002, 10:41 PM   #4
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

You might try re-downloading FlashFXP from our website.
http://www.flashfxp.com/download.php
bigstar is offline  
Old 11-01-2002, 10:21 PM   #5
Gary King
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 90
Default

I have re-installed a fresh new version from FlashFXP.com, and it seems to work well. I hope this will last.
Gary King is offline  
Old 11-03-2002, 01:45 AM   #6
NathanO
Senior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
NathanO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 126
Default

There are a couple of 'warez' versions of build 901 floating around, I havn't seen any for build 902. Be careful what you use, if it ain't legit, don't use it!
NathanO is offline  
Old 11-03-2002, 11:20 AM   #7
Gary King
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 90
Default

Thanks for the advice.
Gary King is offline  
Old 11-07-2002, 02:17 PM   #8
Por_Que2k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10
Default I had this same problem...

I think that if you look into C:\Documents and Settings\*YourUsername*\Application data\FlashFXP, you'll find the files that FlashFXP really uses for its configuration. Replace those with your original 1.4.3 files, and you should find the settings set correctly. That's also where you'll be saving queue files be default.
Por_Que2k is offline  
Old 11-07-2002, 02:42 PM   #9
Shark
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 606
Default Re: I had this same problem...

Quote:
Originally posted by Por_Que2k
I think that if you look into C:\Documents and Settings\*YourUsername*\Application data\FlashFXP, you'll find the files that FlashFXP really uses for its configuration. Replace those with your original 1.4.3 files, and you should find the settings set correctly. That's also where you'll be saving queue files be default.
Thats not where FlashFXP stores the config.. its your FlashFXP directory. I.e D:\FlashFXP\

I'm not sure if you are using an official version or not.. but FlashFXP has never kept settings any where but the FlashFXP directory..
Shark is offline  
Old 11-07-2002, 02:58 PM   #10
Linkster
Moderator
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,070
Default

Shark, if you used the option "use personal settings" on installation, it will store settings in application data...it will also store there if you use the registry key.
Linkster is offline  
Old 11-07-2002, 05:47 PM   #11
Gary King
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 90
Default Re: I had this same problem...

Quote:
Originally posted by Por_Que2k
I think that if you look into C:\Documents and Settings\*YourUsername*\Application data\FlashFXP, you'll find the files that FlashFXP really uses for its configuration. Replace those with your original 1.4.3 files, and you should find the settings set correctly. That's also where you'll be saving queue files be default.
Nope, that was one of the first things I tried (because I kept my 1.4.3 configuration files), and replaced the 2.0 ones, and it still didn't work (the program had reset those files again).

Anyways, thanks for the help. I still haven't had the time to try re-downloading and re-installing FlashFXP from the site; but when I do, let's hope it works properly
Gary King is offline  
Old 11-07-2002, 09:29 PM   #12
Shark
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 606
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Linkster
Shark, if you used the option "use personal settings" on installation, it will store settings in application data...it will also store there if you use the registry key.
Ah ok, sorry then... I dont use the installer
Shark is offline  
 

Tags
2.0, fix, flashfxp, preferences, settings

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)