Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

Bug Reports Report bugs here. (non-beta releases only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2001, 09:45 PM   #1
SubZero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 21
Default trouble resume in ascii files in ascii mode

the downloaded and uploaded file sizes are different so ffxp cannot resume correctly...
SubZero is offline  
Old 11-21-2001, 10:17 PM   #2
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

That is correct, most ftp servers will not correctly resume ASCII files due to the text format conversion.
bigstar is offline  
Old 11-22-2001, 03:25 AM   #3
Fusion
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 542
Default

Most ASCII-based files are so small that a complete repeat transfer isn't a big problem. In case they're so big it becomes cumbersome to do that, it makes more sense to compress them into an archive (ASCII compresses nicely) and transfer the archive. Oh, look, that means you get to use binary mode. Problem solved.
Fusion is offline  
Old 11-22-2001, 11:40 PM   #4
SubZero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 21
Default

well then how can i set:
all ascii files to automatically overwrite
and
smaller binary files to be resumed?
same sized binary files to be skipped?
larger binary files to be ?asked or renamed or whatever?
SubZero is offline  
Old 11-23-2001, 04:48 AM   #5
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

well you can't.. however this does raise a interesting point.

technically the ftp server is at fault, for argumentive stake which ftp server software are we referring to?

If the ftp server does not correctly handle ascii resuming then it should not allow it.
bigstar is offline  
Old 11-23-2001, 05:22 AM   #6
Fusion
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 542
Default

Alternatively, consider adding another parameter to the when file exist bits that get used when the server/client says the file is ASCII? Could get ugly, but maybe worth looking into?
Fusion is offline  
Old 11-23-2001, 09:04 PM   #7
SubZero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fusion
Alternatively, consider adding another parameter to the when file exist bits that get used when the server/client says the file is ASCII?
Well Fusion,
i am now on your side
and thinking the same

by the way,
the ftp server which i consider here is
hypermart 's ftp server
SubZero is offline  
 

Tags
ascii, correctly, ffxp, resume, sizes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Only resume files transferred in binary mode" Gary King General Discussion 1 03-31-2005 01:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)