Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

FlashFXP 4.1 beta feedback Please post all 4.1 beta comments, suggestions and bug reports in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2011, 04:25 PM   #1
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default FlashFXP 4.1 Build 1645 (RC 3)

FlashFXP 4.1 Build 1645 (RC 3)

  1. Changed the behavior for the rename action used in file transfer rules. The new behavior is to rename the destination file using the following syntax {filename}{timestamp}{.ext}, if FlashFXP is unable to rename the destination file the file being transferred will be renamed {filename}(#){.ext} where # is the next available number. In previous versions this feature only renamed the file being transferred using the {filename}(#){.ext} syntax.
  2. Fixed an issue where disconnecting from a server during a file transfer resulted in the queue automatically resuming on the next manual connect.
  3. Fixed rare crash during an update check when FlashFXP is closed while the check is in progress.
  4. Several changes were made to the way toolbar backgrounds are rendered to resolve some compatibility issues, Please let us know if you experience any problems.
  5. Updated OpenSSL to 1.0.0e
bigstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 10:56 AM   #2
LBeansy
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
LBeansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 104
Default Another Graph Issue

Hi Bigstar.

I just downloaded build 1645 and I noticed another issue with the graph.

When I open FFXP the numbers on either side of the graph are all jammed together. I can fix this by grabbing the corner of the window and dragging it out a little.

Please see the image below:



Thanks!
__________________
~FlashFXP 5.4.0 (build 3970) [x]Registered

~Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 - Main Computer & Laptop
~Microsoft Security Essentials Antivirus - (Win 7)
~Running Behind NAT/Router [x] Yes - Linksys AC1900 / EA6900
~Running Firewall [x] Yes - Windows Firewall
~Network: Cable, Comcast

~Installation Details:
Operating System: Windows 7 x64 Service Pack 1

FlashFXP version: 5.4.0 (build 3970)
Operating System: Windows 7 x64 Service Pack 1
Installation type: Per User - User data folder

Program folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Program Files (x86)\FlashFXP 5\

Data folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Users\Lance\AppData\Roaming\FlashFXP\5\

Shared data folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\ProgramData\FlashFXP\5\

Temp folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Users\Lance\AppData\Local\Temp\
LBeansy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 07:34 PM   #3
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

What font name and size are you using for the graph?

I can't seem to reproduce this issue.

I am preparing an update to fix an issue some people are having with the new tool bars (crash when clicking the connect dropdown button), so I'd like to roll this fix in as well sadly I cant figure it out.
bigstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 09:20 PM   #4
LBeansy
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
LBeansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 104
Default

Hi Bigstar.

I have everything set to Tahoma size 8.

I confirmed this on my XP machine too but that font is set to: Microsoft Sans-Serif size 8.

Did you try making the window so that it's not full screen, then closing and re-opening it. It only seems to happen when you open the program minimized.

Let me know if you need anything else.
__________________
~FlashFXP 5.4.0 (build 3970) [x]Registered

~Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 - Main Computer & Laptop
~Microsoft Security Essentials Antivirus - (Win 7)
~Running Behind NAT/Router [x] Yes - Linksys AC1900 / EA6900
~Running Firewall [x] Yes - Windows Firewall
~Network: Cable, Comcast

~Installation Details:
Operating System: Windows 7 x64 Service Pack 1

FlashFXP version: 5.4.0 (build 3970)
Operating System: Windows 7 x64 Service Pack 1
Installation type: Per User - User data folder

Program folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Program Files (x86)\FlashFXP 5\

Data folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Users\Lance\AppData\Roaming\FlashFXP\5\

Shared data folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\ProgramData\FlashFXP\5\

Temp folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Users\Lance\AppData\Local\Temp\
LBeansy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 08:25 AM   #5
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Would it be possible to send me a copy of your flashfxp.ini?
I too am using the default fonts and not able to reproduce the problem, I'm wondering if its something specific to your layout/configuration of FlashFXP.
bigstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 10:58 AM   #6
jvan
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Unhappy



Not sure what happened. After the upgrade, my buttons are all funky I've tried reinstalling (w/ and w/o user data saved), downgraded to the latest stable release version, and also rebooted my computer after each install.

Help?
jvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 11:05 AM   #7
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jvan View Post

Not sure what happened. After the upgrade, my buttons are all funky I've tried reinstalling (w/ and w/o user data saved), downgraded to the latest stable release version, and also rebooted my computer after each install.

Help?
Have you installed any other software or hardware since the last time FlashFXP was working?

Do you use a fingerprint reader? See the following post for details.
http://www.flashfxp.com/forum/faq/15...nt-reader.html
bigstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 11:11 AM   #8
jvan
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default

You da man! Whooooo! It was the fingerprint reader
jvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 11:54 AM   #9
LBeansy
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
LBeansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigstar View Post
Would it be possible to send me a copy of your flashfxp.ini?
I too am using the default fonts and not able to reproduce the problem, I'm wondering if its something specific to your layout/configuration of FlashFXP.
Sure thing. Here is the INI from my Windows 7 machine:
Attached Files
File Type: zip FlashFXPini.zip (1.9 KB, 45 views)
__________________
~FlashFXP 5.4.0 (build 3970) [x]Registered

~Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 - Main Computer & Laptop
~Microsoft Security Essentials Antivirus - (Win 7)
~Running Behind NAT/Router [x] Yes - Linksys AC1900 / EA6900
~Running Firewall [x] Yes - Windows Firewall
~Network: Cable, Comcast

~Installation Details:
Operating System: Windows 7 x64 Service Pack 1

FlashFXP version: 5.4.0 (build 3970)
Operating System: Windows 7 x64 Service Pack 1
Installation type: Per User - User data folder

Program folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Program Files (x86)\FlashFXP 5\

Data folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Users\Lance\AppData\Roaming\FlashFXP\5\

Shared data folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\ProgramData\FlashFXP\5\

Temp folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Users\Lance\AppData\Local\Temp\

Last edited by LBeansy; 09-13-2011 at 12:31 PM.
LBeansy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 12:58 PM   #10
LBeansy
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
LBeansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 104
Default

My issue has been resolved with build 1648.

Thanks Bigstar!
__________________
~FlashFXP 5.4.0 (build 3970) [x]Registered

~Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 - Main Computer & Laptop
~Microsoft Security Essentials Antivirus - (Win 7)
~Running Behind NAT/Router [x] Yes - Linksys AC1900 / EA6900
~Running Firewall [x] Yes - Windows Firewall
~Network: Cable, Comcast

~Installation Details:
Operating System: Windows 7 x64 Service Pack 1

FlashFXP version: 5.4.0 (build 3970)
Operating System: Windows 7 x64 Service Pack 1
Installation type: Per User - User data folder

Program folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Program Files (x86)\FlashFXP 5\

Data folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Users\Lance\AppData\Roaming\FlashFXP\5\

Shared data folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\ProgramData\FlashFXP\5\

Temp folder [Access: Read / Write]
C:\Users\Lance\AppData\Local\Temp\
LBeansy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 08:21 PM   #11
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Great! Glad that did the trick for you.
bigstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 02:43 AM   #12
frostyboy
Junior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Hi Bigstar,

1. What is change log from build 1645 to 1648? What problems were fixed?

2. Evaluation nag screen both in prompt and in popup still says RC3, may wish to remove it in next release. Also the 50% off offer link is broken.

3. Logging in to the forums as in flashfxp.com/forum without the "www" results in a redirect error.

4. Installation defaults. Why is the IE plugin not installed by default and have to choose custom to install it? Other users may not know and simply default to a typical install. Are there any plans for a Firefox or Chrome plugin? And the languages should be optional, not a typical part of the installation? No need to waste more space on unneeded languages.

5. I have had this strange problem of FlashFXP and Win7 Ultimate SP1 32 bit, not saving the 'per user' installation settings and defaulting back to the 'single user'. I cannot find the option in preferences to revert it back. Perhaps this could be introduced in a later build. I have tried this in both normal mode and safe mode. I had to delete the FlashFXP.exe and reinstall and it now seems to work, but its really odd.

6. Given that 4.1 beta is now over, what are your plans for the future? Is your plan to start a 4.2 beta or are you going to start working on version 5?

Thanks!
frostyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 07:53 AM   #13
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frostyboy View Post
Hi Bigstar,
1. What is change log from build 1645 to 1648? What problems were fixed?
There was just one change, I fixed the issue with the transfer graph font.

Quote:
2. Evaluation nag screen both in prompt and in popup still says RC3, may wish to remove it in next release. Also the 50% off offer link is broken.
Thank you, I have resolved this issue.

Quote:
3. Logging in to the forums as in flashfxp.com/forum without the "www" results in a redirect error.
Thank you for bringing this to my attention, flashfxp.com/forum should redirect to www.flashfxp.com/forum, this should now be fixed.

Quote:
4. Installation defaults. Why is the IE plugin not installed by default and have to choose custom to install it? Other users may not know and simply default to a typical install. Are there any plans for a Firefox or Chrome plugin? And the languages should be optional, not a typical part of the installation? No need to waste more space on unneeded languages.
When we first implemented the IE plugin we received a lot of flack because its a BHO (browser helper object) and several security conscious customers asked us to not install it by default. We listened to them and make it part of the custom install.

I don't think a plugin is required for Firefox or Chrome, There was a post on the forums somewhere explaining how to configure Firefox to use FlashFXP.

More than half of our customers use FlashFXP in language other than English, It makes sense to have them as part of the typical installation.

Quote:
5. I have had this strange problem of FlashFXP and Win7 Ultimate SP1 32 bit, not saving the 'per user' installation settings and defaulting back to the 'single user'. I cannot find the option in preferences to revert it back. Perhaps this could be introduced in a later build. I have tried this in both normal mode and safe mode. I had to delete the FlashFXP.exe and reinstall and it now seems to work, but its really odd.
I will look into this, the last time I tested the 'per user' settings everything worked as designed. You only installed FlashFXP once correct?

Quote:
6. Given that 4.1 beta is now over, what are your plans for the future? Is your plan to start a 4.2 beta or are you going to start working on version 5?
Thanks!
The web site needs lots of work, So thats where I will focus my time before starting on the next release. I have some big dreams for the next version, we'll just have to wait and see how it plays out.
bigstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 08:16 AM   #14
frostyboy
Junior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Hi Bigstar,

No problem and thanks again for your prompt responses.

In relation to the per user install, yes I only installed FlashFXP once but this was as an 'upgrade' of build 1645, I then tried repair install to no avail. It was only after deleting flashfxp.exe and reinstalling did it finally revert back.

PS: We can also help 'beta test' the new website for you if and when the time arises , it would be sad for us beta testers to disappear while your efforts are focused on the website.
Just my 2c for you to sleep on.
frostyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 02:17 PM   #15
Yil
Too much time...
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,194
Default

Does anybody else have an issue with entering the letter 'e' into the raw command line (not the popup window) after issuing custom commands? It's driving me crazy, I'm going to have to figure out where that problem got introduced and work backwards, but I'm afraid it might pre-date the memory corruption fixes...
Yil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
file, flashfxp, rename, syntax, transferred

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)