Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

Bug Reports Found a bug? Please let us know.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2002, 10:17 AM   #1
Kamikazi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8
Default File Associations

With RC3 875 it won't open the correct programs, associated with the ones I have configured at file associations?
Kamikazi is offline  
Old 09-08-2002, 02:47 PM   #2
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Hello,

Can you please give me some examples and more details as to what exactly happens. Thanks.

File Associations were changed in RC3. FlashFXP provided an auto update to convert the old format into the new. Perhaps there was a problem with the update.
bigstar is offline  
Old 09-08-2002, 03:06 PM   #3
Kamikazi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigstar
Hello,

Can you please give me some examples and more details as to what exactly happens. Thanks.

File Associations were changed in RC3. FlashFXP provided an auto update to convert the old format into the new. Perhaps there was a problem with the update.
Sure...

I updated using the LiveUpdate function in FlashFXP, downloaded it from there and installed it as well. It just extracted itself... no update, whatever.

When I go to website, and I take for instance a .php file, which I set up to open in Homesite+, it would open in Notepad, it's standard Windows association... not in my selected tools.

Removing the old association in FlashFXP and add it again didn't help.

If you need more, tell me.
Kamikazi is offline  
Old 09-08-2002, 03:20 PM   #4
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

when you added the association for .php did you specifically add "*.php" the * is now required as we no longer match just extensions but wild-card patterns within the file name.
bigstar is offline  
Old 09-08-2002, 03:45 PM   #5
Kamikazi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigstar
when you added the association for .php did you specifically add "*.php" the * is now required as we no longer match just extensions but wild-card patterns within the file name.
Didn't do that, but will active it right now... but this build didn't upgrade that automaticly
Kamikazi is offline  
Old 09-08-2002, 04:08 PM   #6
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

hmmm.. If it didn't upgrade automatically then there might be some sort of problem with your FlashFXP.ini

By chance do you have a backup prior to upgrading to RC3? I would love to see it.

Did anyone else have problems with the auto updating of file associations?
bigstar is offline  
Old 09-08-2002, 04:13 PM   #7
Ralf vd Enden
Junior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 28
Default

Yes,

I had to manually change the .nfo to *.nfo too. Not a biggy. I figured it out soon enough.
Ralf vd Enden is offline  
Old 09-08-2002, 05:53 PM   #8
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

I sure wish I knew what causes the conversion update to fail. I can't seem to reproduce it.

If anyone has a original flashfxp.ini prior to a failed auto update I would love to see it.
bigstar is offline  
Old 09-10-2002, 02:05 AM   #9
aCe2k
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
aCe2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 58
Default

I have mine
i've renamed it to .txt so that the forum can allow attachment...

I use the same setup on my 2 putters here... the main on i've allready updated and convertion fail..

had:
.nfo
.php
.inc
.txt

to open in C:\Programfiler\Textpad\Textpad.exe
[.no language name for Program Files]

Is the app on the secondary putter isn't updated yet.. so i'm not shure if it'll work or fail (it's in use atm.)
I'll check back as so as the update is done and let you know

aCe out
aCe2k is offline  
Old 09-10-2002, 02:24 AM   #10
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Thanks Ace

After reviewing your flashfxp.ini I have determined the cause of the problem and it has been resolved.

If the entry build=X doesn't exist under [main] the auto update fails because X becomes = 0 which is ignored.

to solve the problem you can manually add the entry or update the associations.

[main]
build=835

The build number must be no higher than 835. this will catch you up to date on all other updates that you may have missed.
bigstar is offline  
Old 09-11-2002, 11:16 AM   #11
aCe2k
Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
aCe2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 58
Default

Yupp...

Build=835

did the trick ! Thanks
aCe2k is offline  
 

Tags
associations, configured, correct, file, programs

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)