Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > >

Bug Reports Report bugs here.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2005, 03:07 AM   #1
JimJam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default Extremely high CPU load when uploading

Only just recently I've been experiencing very high CPU load when uploading only. Interestingly FXPing seems fine. When looking at the taskmanager the culprit flashfxp process would rapidly increase in cpu load till it is 100% and then the process hangs. The only way to reduce the load again is to stop the download or end the process from task manager.

There aren't any other processes that are sapping resources at the same time except the uploading flashfxp. This is through looking at taskmanager.

It doesn't matter which site I upload to, the same problem occurs as long as I upload. I've tried uploading with a proxy and it still doesn't make a difference.

I've known various people who has the same problem. It seems to be a recent problem too. I wonder if it has to do with the some of the newer sp2 updates?

I've run various spyware checker which didn't sort the problem.

Updating to the newest flashfxp 3.1.10.1067 on 27.1.05, didn't work either.

This is driving me mad, has anyone got a solution?

FlashFXP v3.0.2 Build 1045 Registered
WinXP Pro SP2 with all recent updates from microsoft updates.
Zonealarm firewall but problem is the same when switched off from taskmanager.
Norton Antivirus 2002
Using a buffalo wireless router but pc is connected directly to router. No encryption used. No NAT is used.
Network: ADSL
cpu AMD xp 2800+, 1G ram
sp2 firewall off
JimJam is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 03:31 AM   #2
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,845
Default

SP2 firewall, is it on or off?
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 04:53 AM   #3
JimJam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default

sp2 firewall off.
JimJam is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 11:46 PM   #4
NathanO
Senior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
NathanO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 126
Default

Is it only while uploading using FlashFXP ? And is it only one particular file or any upload ?

Try an alternate method of uploading the file, even just copying to another network drive if possible to pinpoint if it is in fact FlashFXP.

A good defrag might be needed if you havn't ran one for a while.

Also disable the antivirus.

FXP is probably fine because the data is not on your drive.

I suspect the problem is either the data on the drive (corrupt or severely fragmented) or a 3rd party application monitoring or accessing the data as it is lifted.
NathanO is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 09:45 PM   #5
DangerBoy
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default I have the same problem

I have exactly the same problem with uploading...cpu load increases until everything just hangs.

windows xp with service pack 2
zonealarm

Any other ideas?
DangerBoy is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 12:14 AM   #6
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,845
Default Re: I have the same problem

Quote:
Originally posted by DangerBoy
Any other ideas?
no help can be offered to you until you read http://forum.flashfxp.com/showthread...&threadid=4720
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 12:50 AM   #7
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Have you tried uploading with a speed limit enabled? It would be interesting to know if certain slower speeds upload without a high CPU load.
bigstar is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 07:21 AM   #8
DangerBoy
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

yes I have tried uploading with a bandwidth limit ... even going at 10k it will eventually bog down and hang.

I am positive it is something to do with zonealarm ... I have a system that runs norton internet security with no problems.

I will continue to fool with the setting and hopefully stumble across something.
DangerBoy is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:04 AM   #9
JimJam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default

It's interesting that you mentioned zone alarm. I'm using zone alarm too, but I've even tried uploading with zone Alarm turned off at the taskmanager and yet the problem still occurs.

One of my mate with the exact problem even reinstalled his OS and still got the same problem.

Any suggestions?
JimJam is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 11:53 AM   #10
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Turning off ZoneAlram doesn't disable it, It's still in place and active, the only way to truely turn off ZoneAlarm is to uninstall it. If you search the forums you'll find many threads about ZoneAlarm causing problems, most of the problems were solved by uninstalling ZoneAlarm.
bigstar is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 01:54 AM   #11
JimJam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I've found the solution at last. Thank you all for your kind help and advice.

The problem does indeed lie with zonealarm (mainly the junkmail filter prog), this problem could also be caused by adwares.

What happens is that these progs modifies the winxp winsock which then causes this problem.

Download a prog call winsock xp fix 1.2 which will just solve the problem.
JimJam is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 01:21 AM   #12
DangerBoy
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

that winsock fix worked like a charm. Thank you!
DangerBoy is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 11:29 PM   #13
NathanO
Senior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
NathanO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 126
Default

Nice work !

Well done.

NathanO is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 06:45 PM   #14
andrewweb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1
Default ah but...

I just hit this problem as well, except it was the System process that was taking more than its fair share. Seeing crazy upload speeds too, more than theoretically possible.

I checked out the command prompt FTP client in XP, and it did exactly the same thing.

Only thing to have changed since it was working fine? Installled Kerio Personal Firewall.

So, I uninstalled that and it now works fine again.

I'm assuming an inneficiency in their scanning engine, their forums (if applicable) is my next stop.

So - anyone else having problems with high upload cpu usage - try the command prompt client first.

That winsock fix thing didn't work for me, waste of time.
andrewweb is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 12:35 PM   #15
Zarkov
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Well thanks for that.
The winsock xp sp2 fix worked a treat for me.
I have been going mad for weeks with this problem, kept having to sit and watch the usage and abort the transfer when it started going high and then resume

Now i can just let it get on with it


FlashFXP 3.0.2 Build 1045 (Registered)
Zonealarm Interet Security suit 5.5.062.011
No Router
ADSL
WinXP SP2
Zarkov is offline  
 

Tags
download, flashfxp, problem, upload, uploading

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSL error in FXP transfer jll_pt General Discussion 4 02-03-2005 11:15 AM
Site to site question, wont connect Xbox4144 General Discussion 3 01-09-2005 10:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)