Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > >

Bug Reports Report bugs here.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2006, 04:36 AM   #1
DayCuts
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 421
Default Possible 'Transfer Speed Display Units' bug

FlashFXP 3.4.0 final, windows 2000 pro.

This option provides two choices 'Kilobytes per second (KB/s)' and 'kilobits per second (kbps)'. I can't remember if there was an 'Auto' option in preferences of previous versions, but such an option does no exist in 3.4.0 final.

The transfer log, status log and the transfer progressbar all display incorrectly when KB/s is the chosen display option. It seems to act as if you have chosen a third option, 'Auto'. It will display the speed in KB/s for slower transfers, but in MB/s for faster transfers (i assume anything over 1MB/s).
DayCuts is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 04:52 AM   #2
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

This was a recent change and is the designed behavior. When KB/s is selected and the transfer is faster than 1023 KB/s it shows as MB/s (1024 KB = 1MB)

The transfer speed units option actually relates to bytes vs. bits. even though we imply KB/s in that setting. Perhaps the text could be updated, though I don't think it will be too much of an issue.

Good eye though.
bigstar is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 08:45 AM   #3
DayCuts
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 421
Default

Hmm, i see.. if this setting has been changed to reflect an option of bits vs bytes, then it is still a little confusing/ununiform.

What i mean is, the intended 'smart units' method is only implemented for bytes (will show KB/MB depending on the speed). If kbps is chosen it will always display in absolute kbps (no mbps?). Where as in the past (iirc) both the KB/s and kbps options meant that the speed would show absolute speeds, in the measure of units chosen.

"...seconds (12,107 Kbps)" = ~11.8Mbps, ~1513 KB/s, ~1.48MB/s

Agreed its not a big deal, just a little confusing. Maybe this could be turned into a suggestion for future builds... more specific options for this setting. 'Display in bytes (KB/s)', 'Display in bytes (Smart Units)', 'Display in bits (Kbps)', 'Display in bits (Smart Units)'. Or something to that effect.

I guess i just prefer absolute KB/s, and MB/s rounded to a single decimal place isn't particularly accurate (upto 5% off).

Anyway, thanks for the clarification and as usual nice work.
DayCuts is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 02:16 PM   #4
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

In the next revision I'll try to incoperate more specific options and add Mbps which incidently was overlooked. Also perhaps MB/s should display two decimal places.
bigstar is offline  
 

Tags
display, flashfxp, kb/s, option, transfer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)