Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > >

General Discussion Need help? Have a problem? Let us help you. Bug reports and feature requests should be made using the Bug Tracker or Feature Tracker

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2005, 06:10 PM   #1
Thany
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 29
Default FTP server with no password

Here's the situation, to un-panic you:

I have a LAN at my home, which is isolated from any threads from outside, by a hardware NAT-router box. On this LAN is an Windows MCE box to which I upload a movie a few times a week. And since MCE cannot be joined into a network and FTP being a much more efficient protocol for large file transfers, I installed an FTP server on it (IIS). However, since it's an MCE, the logon account doesn't have a password, so that after pressing the power-button, I get MCE without any other input. And since the FTP is IIS, it uses the windows userbase, which has 1 account with no password.

Now the bottom line: FlashFXP always asks for that password when logging into that FTP server. How can I disable that?
Thany is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 06:51 PM   #2
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Enter anything in the password field, if it's not required by the ftp server it will never be sent.
bigstar is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 04:27 PM   #3
Thany
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 29
Default

Too bad, if I fill in something, the server says the password isn't correct, "550 user thany cannot log in".

this is probably because the server *is* expecting a password to be sent, but it has to be empty. I told that it's IIS, and you can't tell IIS to ignore the password. It needs a valid password, whether it's empty or not.

It's the same when logging in interactively, when you try to login with a password into an account that doesn't have a password, it'll fail.
Thany is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:59 PM   #4
clownisius
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default

It most likely has an auto login with password setup someplace.


If i were you try setting a password, and have it auto login with that, and you can use that in ftp...
clownisius is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 01:04 PM   #5
Thany
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
It most likely has an auto login with password setup someplace.

If i were you try setting a password, and have it auto login with that, and you can use that in ftp...
Hm, maybe I should look the other way indeed
Thany is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 08:24 AM   #6
chotaire
Member
FlashFXP Scripter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 82
Default

If you don't need a password, do not check [ ] Anonymous and just don't enter any password at all. It will work.
chotaire is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 12:45 PM   #7
Thany
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 29
Default

Yeah, but the problem is that FXP asks for a password when actually logging in.
Thany is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 01:28 AM   #8
DayCuts
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 421
Default

Thany is correct.

If you log into a site with anonymous unchecked and no user or pass it will pop up a box asking for it. If you clear the box and proceed it will not send a blank user/pass. Instead it will make an assumption and send 'anonymous'.
DayCuts is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 01:45 PM   #9
Thany
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 29
Default

But in my case, it's not an anonymous login. It's a login with a normal user, but with an empty password.

Maybe I should just make the FTP server anonymously accessible
Thany is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 04:29 PM   #10
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

I did some tests and if you create a site entry with a blank password, during connect it will prompt you for a password, if you press enter a blank password is sent to the ftp server.

If this above method doesn't work then perhaps IIS requires a valid password for this account and not a blank one.
bigstar is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:11 PM   #11
Thany
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigstar
I did some tests and if you create a site entry with a blank password, during connect it will prompt you for a password, if you press enter a blank password is sent to the ftp server.
That's the problem
Thany is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
flashfxp, ftp, mce, password, upload

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)