Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > >

General Discussion Need help? Have a problem? Let us help you. Bug reports and feature requests should be made using the Bug Tracker or Feature Tracker

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 03:56 PM   #1
simoni
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default fxp transfer, two times the same file

Hello,
the question its that when i made a transfer between two server (sftp to ftp), it made a first tranfer at good velocity, and when it finish, start again the process at bad velocity. It says "entering passive mode".
Its not possible to make the transfer only one time?

Sorry for the english¡
simoni is offline  
Old 10-02-2012, 07:52 AM   #2
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

When transferring sftp to ftp this is not a fxp transfer, the file is first downloaded from the sftp server to your computer and then uploaded to the ftp server.

A direct site to site transfer is only possible when transferring between two ftp servers.
bigstar is offline  
Old 10-03-2012, 05:09 AM   #3
X3
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
X3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: location, location.
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simoni View Post
Hello,
the question its that when i made a transfer between two server (sftp to ftp), it made a first tranfer at good velocity, and when it finish, start again the process at bad velocity. It says "entering passive mode".
Its not possible to make the transfer only one time?

Sorry for the english¡
SFTP Protocol is Incompatible with FTP protocol in principle you cannot transfer files directly in between these protocols. You cannot do it in one time, its impossible to FXP in between incompatible protocols.

Like Bigstar says FXP is only possible inbetween two FTP servers.

FlashFXP allows you to do this, by downloading the file and then automatically (read without user input) uploads the downloaded file to the other server. (like a fake bridge in between the two sides)

the speeds recorded depend on what servers your using and their location. you dont specify where SFTP is (local or remote) or where FTP is (local or remote) (local=LAN or remote=WAN)

Be lucky that FlashFXP allows you this at all. Most clients (almost 99%) do not support anything even similar to this.
__________________
Regards
X3 is offline  
Old 10-03-2012, 02:19 PM   #4
simoni
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Hello,
first to all thanks for the great replys¡¡
Ok, i dont know the problem betwen sftp and ftp. I tried it by ftp to ftp and it works perfectly.
Boths are remote servers.
Thanks¡
simoni is offline  
Old 10-04-2012, 02:13 AM   #5
X3
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
X3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: location, location.
Posts: 324
Default

What "problem" exactly do you mean?

Post logs with timestamps for:

Session SFTP>FTP

Session FTP>FTP

can you also make sure your PREFERENCES>Connections>TCI/IP Buffer Size is (default)

Post separate logs please.
__________________
Regards
X3 is offline  
Old 10-04-2012, 06:56 AM   #6
simoni
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default

its not a flashfxp problem, i mean that sftp its incompatible with ftp, for me this is a problem.
Flashfxp its for me the best ftp client.
simoni is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
ftp, fxp, sftp, transfer, velocity

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)