Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > >

General Discussion Need help? Have a problem? Let us help you. Bug reports and feature requests should be made using the Bug Tracker or Feature Tracker

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2007, 12:28 PM   #1
gareth
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Angry FlashFXP window keeps minimizing on connect!

I'm a long time users of Flash FXP, currently running latest version v3.4.0 (Build 1145). In recent weeks, I've noticed that whenever I open FlashFXP and connect to a site the Flash FXP window disappears. Well not disappears altogether, but is no longer the focus window. It immediataly minimises to the task bar. I have to click on the task bar everytime to do bring it back.

This is driving me crazy Is there a setting I need to change, or is this a bug that's come in with a recent update? It only seems to have started happening lately. I'm using Vista Ultimate by the way.

Any ideas/suggestions?
gareth is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 01:13 PM   #2
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

There is no option to minimize on connect, there is however one to restore FlashFXP on connect. I'm not quite sure why you'd get the opposite effect, my best guess is that the problem is occurring from something else.

We're preparing to release FlashFXP v3.6, we're currently at RC2 and we'll be releasing RC3 next week. v3.6 makes many many improvements for windows vista users. You might consider upgrading and perhaps it will solve the problem.
bigstar is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:02 PM   #3
gareth
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Question

Could this be an issue that's unique to Vista? I ask, cos I've now tried installing latest version on another PC running Vista, and it's doing exact same thing on that PC. Everytime I click the connect button, the FlashFXP window immediately minimizes. Nothing similar is happening with any other programs on either machine though - just FlashFXP. Weird!
gareth is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 03:56 AM   #4
X3
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
X3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: location, location.
Posts: 324
Default

I have Vista and havent experienced this, but then again Im using FFXP RC3 however even though this setting is enabled on FFXP for me try and disable it on yours.

GOTO Options>Preferences>Display>Options>(uncheck) Place on system tray when minimised

I recon that is it but hey I dunno. Just a wild guess even if the wrong one...

But like Bigstar says a FFXP update to latest version is definetly recommended since it has fixed some issues with Vista and some of them were quite and very annoying.
__________________
Regards
X3 is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 04:30 AM   #5
gareth
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default Problem is just when using Site Manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by X3lectric View Post
GOTO Options>Preferences>Display>Options>(uncheck) Place on system tray when minimised

I recon that is it but hey I dunno. Just a wild guess even if the wrong one...
I checked, and that option is already unchecked, so it's not that.

However, I need to clarify when this occurs. I can now confirm that this ONLY happens when I use the Site Manager window. If I open Site Manager and either Connect to a site, OR, just click the Close button, that's when the whole FlashFXP window minimizes to the tray. It does not minimize when I carry out other actions within Flash FXP, or just connect using the standard connect button. I've now been able to replicate this bug on 3 different PC, all of which are running Vista.
gareth is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 05:25 AM   #6
X3
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
X3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: location, location.
Posts: 324
Default

I just tried your way and I have to say that on the FFXP version I have RC3 this does not happen, so short of upgrading to this version I dont know what else to suggest.

If your not able to upgrade via customer portal then ask Bigstar for te file if your a registered user, of you dont ask you dont get! Not guaranty though.

Other way is to wait for the 3.6 version release or try RC2 or RC1 they would have hopefully fixed this issue.

Here is a link for it, its free upgrade so nothing to loose

http://www.inicom.net/pages/en.ffxp-beta.php

thats for RC3 on that page and anyone can download it I think.
__________________
Regards

Last edited by X3; 12-04-2007 at 05:30 AM. Reason: adding link to RC3
X3 is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 07:33 AM   #7
gareth
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by X3lectric View Post
I just tried your way and I have to say that on the FFXP version I have RC3 this does not happen, so short of upgrading to this version I dont know what else to suggest.
Upgraded tp RC3 but problem is still there for me
gareth is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 07:46 AM   #8
gareth
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Smile Sorry!!

Sorry, sorry, sorry! After all this I've discovered it was another utility that was running on my PCs that was interfering with FlashFXP and causing this. Once I set that program to exclude FlashFXP it works OK.

Aplogies for wasting everyone's time.
gareth is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 07:00 PM   #9
X3
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
X3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: location, location.
Posts: 324
Default

Well it would be nice to know if possible what utility cause FFXP to react this way in Vista that way maybe something can be established specially since I experience one issue that may or may not be related to a utility.

Look at http://bugtracker.inicom.net for my report.
__________________
Regards
X3 is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 04:36 AM   #10
gareth
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X3lectric View Post
Well it would be nice to know if possible what utility cause FFXP to react this way in Vista that way maybe something can be established specially since I experience one issue that may or may not be related to a utility.

Look at http://bugtracker.inicom.net for my report.
Sorry. The utility is FileBox eXtender which can be found at http://www.hyperionics.com/. I have added this to the bug tracker.
gareth is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 01:54 PM   #11
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

I have replied via the bugtracker on this issue...
bigstar is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
disappears, flashfxp, fxp, recent, window

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)