Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > >

General Discussion Need help? Have a problem? Let us help you. Bug reports and feature requests should be made using the Bug Tracker or Feature Tracker

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-28-2006, 11:41 PM   #1
Talendor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Issue listing contents of any directory (doesn't work).

First, I'd just like to say that I went to FlashFXP because of an extremely high recommendation from a friend. So, I figured I'd try it out and see if it's as good as he says it is (I used to use SmartFTP).

Well, my problem is pretty simple. When I try to connect to my FTP at home. It connects just fine. But, it doesn't list anything in the directory. If I connect to that same ftp username with SmartFTP, or Windows Explorer, or CuteFTP, or WS_FTP, it lists the directory just fine. FlashFXP, for some reason, does not. It lists nothing.

I've tried connecting to other FTP sites, they work just fine (they list the directories). My FTP at home doesn't...and it's only with FlashFXP.

Here's my relevant info:
* FlashFXP v[3].4], build [ ], [ ]registered, [x]unregistered, [ ]pirated
* OS [x] WinXP, [ ] Win2K, [ ] Win98, [ ] WinME, [ ] Other
* Running behind NAT/router [x] Yes & Model [Linksys], [ ] No, [ ] Not sure
* Running firewall [x] Yes, Name [Windows Firewall], Ver. [ ], or [ ] No
* Running Antivirus [x] Yes, Name [Avast!] or [ ] No
* Network [ ] xDSL, [x] CABLE, [ ] Dail-Up, [ ] Other

Oh, I use Gene 6 FTP too (for my FTP server at home). Hopefully I don't have to ask their support forums though (because I can use any other FTP client just fine).

Thanks for the help in advance.

Edit: Also, if anyone wants an FTP username/password to connect to my ftp for testing purposes, I'll be glad to PM you a temporary username/pass.
Talendor is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 02:41 AM   #2
FTPServerTools
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Scripter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 543
Default

You should activate passive mode then. If you have the server behind a router and you have set up the sevrer correctly then passive mode is generally the way to go.
FTPServerTools is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 03:32 AM   #3
Talendor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I went into the site's options, checked "Use Passive Mode" and tried it. Still doesn't let me few any files in the directory. Any other ideas?

If I need to open a port on the client, I can do that.
Talendor is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 07:12 AM   #4
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,839
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talendor
I went into the site's options, checked "Use Passive Mode" and tried it. Still doesn't let me few any files in the directory. Any other ideas?
need to see session log with pasv mode enabled..
also, have you looked at http://www.g6ftpserver.com/en/faq#Troubleshooting.3 ?
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:36 AM   #5
Talendor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

[R] CLNT FlashFXP 3.4.0.1140
[R] 200 Noted.
[R] PWD
[R] 257 "/" is current directory.
[R] TYPE A
[R] 200 Type set to A.
[R] PASV
[R] 227 Entring Passive Mode (68,70,89,231,124,241
[R] List Complete: 0 bytes in 0.14 seconds (0.0 KB/s)

---

G6 says it shouldn't be saying my IP address there, it should be saying 192,168... Not sure how i make it change to my lan ip though.
Talendor is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:59 AM   #6
MxxCon
Super Duper
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,839
Default

i think your router might be doing that. some routers have ftp "helpers".
when they detect ftp connection and see that server replied with 192.168.x.x address, router will automatically modify that command to put your Internet ip.
can you temporary remove linksys router from your setup and see if that makes any difference?

can you post session log from ftp client that works?..to see if they do anything differently
__________________
[Sig removed by Administrator: Signature can not exceed 20GB]
MxxCon is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
connect, fine, flashfxp, ftp, [x]

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)