Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > >

FlashFXP v5.x Public Beta Please direct all comments, suggestions, bug reports, and feedback for public beta releases to this forum.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2013, 08:35 PM   #1
KappaYeates
Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 46
Default setup is garbled

Chinese ver. Windows 7, all unrecognized characters during the setup process.

ffxp build 3660.
Attached Thumbnails
setup is garbled-qq-20130827093341-jpg  

Last edited by KappaYeates; 08-26-2013 at 08:43 PM.
KappaYeates is offline  
Old 08-27-2013, 11:30 AM   #2
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

I suspect that this content is shown because the version check failed. Though I'm not entirely sure why, on failure another message is supposed to be displayed indicating the version check failed. Perhaps this message is coming from your firewall or proxy?

The reason the text is garbled is because the installer isn't unicode, we looked at upgrading to the latest version of the installer with unicode support however we could not justify the 1.6MB increase in the setup size that the new version of the installer added. Making the FlashFXP v5 installer around 7 MB.
bigstar is offline  
Old 08-27-2013, 12:46 PM   #3
X3
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
X3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: location, location.
Posts: 324
Default

Any messages installer generated will still be in English, any thing from generated by the system will likely be garbled depending on the OS language.

Or do I misunderstand the issue?

So in large I dont think this message is from installer but rather being mangled by it, which then question is why is anything non English system generated being allowed at this stage?

The reason I know for sure, this message is NOT from the installer is because the large RED portion there is no equivalent in English text nor the rest, so this message is caused by sistem + installer allowing system to interfere where no system input is required. (Im my flawed opinion)

However having said that, the beta installer is incomplete at best in my observation of its many bugs which have been passed on. The version check feature is non functional even in Stable releases.



This message a result of version check can be simulated if you turn off the Internet connection.



This message is a result of the version check if you click next (on versioncheck) and then back, then next again

In none of these messages (installer generated one can see any red text etc.
__________________
Regards

Last edited by X3; 08-27-2013 at 01:17 PM.
X3 is offline  
Old 08-27-2013, 07:45 PM   #4
KappaYeates
Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 46
Default

oic, it was from our firewall and I've no idea how to deal with it.
KappaYeates is offline  
Old 08-28-2013, 01:57 AM   #5
X3
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
X3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: location, location.
Posts: 324
Default

I dont think you can avoid it tbh, though Im sure it will eventually be fixed. It would help to know details on your setup to help reproduce problem and lead to a better fix or workaround.
__________________
Regards
X3 is offline  
Old 08-28-2013, 08:34 PM   #6
KappaYeates
Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 46
Default

Because of the firewall, I need to configure a HTTP proxy to access the internet, and of course during the software setup process there is no place to specify it, so that it is. Maybe ffxp can do better with I18N?
KappaYeates is offline  
Old 08-29-2013, 03:10 AM   #7
X3
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
 
X3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: location, location.
Posts: 324
Default

Thanks for that.

I believe a fix of sorts is on its way. Instead of letting the system display messages through the installer, because the installer is not unicode aware, instead a generic error message will pop up, idk if that is final but it should resolve the issue...
This will prevent garbled text when the OS is by default a language like Chinese or greek etc, on this particular installer step.

Stay tuned.
__________________
Regards
X3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
3660, build, ffxp, process, setup

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)