Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > >

Programming Need help with C/C++/Delphi? Ask here and make us all laugh.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2004, 04:22 AM   #1
Syrinx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 25
Default Memory Usage Of A Program

I used VC++ 6.0 to compile a very simple win32 "hello workd!" program,and the program used almost 1MB memory as executed.
Why such a program requires such big memory to run?
Syrinx is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 10:35 AM   #2
JoSh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Default

It isn't normal , give us the source code of your hello world.
JoSh is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 02:21 PM   #3
Grendel
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Scripter
 
Grendel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

maybe tons of microsoft debug data ?!?
__________________
- FlashFXP v4.0 BETA (v3.7.9 Build 1401) registered
- Windows 7 x64
- McAfee Antivirus Enterprise 8.7i Patch 2 + Antispyware 8.7i
Grendel is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 05:16 PM   #4
neoxed
Too much time...
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Scripter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,326
Default

Grendel, do you just post for the sake of posting? Your irrelevant commentary doesn't help answer any questions.

Syrinx, where are you obtaining the information about the memory usage? From the task manager? Assuming you were using the task manager, the "memory usage" column indicates the total amount of memory used by the process (which includes virtual memory). This doesn't indicate how much phsyical memory the process is actually consuming. If your project was a debug build, it also may consume slighty more memory.

Not sure if this answers your question or not.
neoxed is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 05:20 PM   #5
Grendel
Senior Member
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Scripter
 
Grendel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

Code:
#include <stdio.h>

int main() {
  printf("Hello World!\n");
  return 0;
}

try DEV-C++ (it's free)

http://www.bloodshed.net/

with DEV-C++ v4.9.8.0
the code above results in a 23212 Bytes .EXE

maybe it solves your problem, if VC++ won't do it.


__________________
- FlashFXP v4.0 BETA (v3.7.9 Build 1401) registered
- Windows 7 x64
- McAfee Antivirus Enterprise 8.7i Patch 2 + Antispyware 8.7i
Grendel is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 05:23 PM   #6
neoxed
Too much time...
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Scripter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,326
Default

Grendel, he was asking about the memory consumption, not executable the size.
neoxed is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
1mb, executed, memory, program, run

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
flashfxp help please pookie General Discussion 3 05-28-2005 07:19 PM
Site to site question, wont connect Xbox4144 General Discussion 3 01-09-2005 10:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)